Simple question re shortcut deleting and arrangmentsSupport

Last Updated:

1. MalvernBry

MalvernBry New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi to you all.

I'm new to android and been trying to get to grip with a Samsung Gallaxy Europa (running V2.1) and keep running into the same basic, silly and fundimental problem.

According to everything I read and seen, to rearrange a short cut on a home screen you just press on the icon for a short while, it changes colour and then drag it to it's new location. And to delete it, you drag it to the bin that appears at the bottom.

This (most of the time) is not happening to me! If I hold on an icon most of the time the appilication is instantly launched. If I start moving, the whole screen (wall paper) starts to moving. (It obviousely does not recognise I'm pressing an icon of a short cut.) Very occasionally the bin may flash up and just a few times I actually been able to drag a short cut into it. This after many hours trying.

This is such a fundimental action that I can only assume it a fault with the phone I got, or I have turn on (or off) an option that is effecting the is action.

(I have also tried using LauncherPro but the same basic problem exists.)

Can anyone with a better knowlege of android tell me if I doing something silly . And can someone with a Europa tell me if the have any such problems.

Many thanks
    Bryan

Advertisement
  2. BookLover

BookLover Well-Known Member

You have to press and "hold" the widget continuously and drag it until it goes where you want it to go. Then let go. Don't release the "hold" until the widget has moved.

In Launcher Pro, when the screen moves, you're actually changing screens and the widget is moving with you. Try letting go once the screen moves and you'll see that the widget has moved from page 1 to page 4, for example.

3. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator