Simpleroot help


Last Updated:

  1. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    This is probably a very simple question but I am stumped. I downloaded the file to my computer and it is zipped. When I go into the program it's a bunch of different files. Which one do I open for the program to start. On the videos there is just one icon they click and the program starts.
     

    Advertisement
  2. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    it should have a little picture of an EVO. I could not get it to work on my computer I had to do it at work.

     
  3. Cru

    Cru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    OTA SimpleRoot.exe

    Make sure you extract the zip file to a folder and then run the OTA SimpleRoot.exe from within the folder.
     
    355spider likes this.
  4. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Excellent it worked. Thanks.
     
  5. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ok now I am stuck. It just fails to install the PC36IMG. I've tried installing in HTCsync and charge only. I tried deleting the PC36IMG from the last attempt and no dice. Is there something I am missing? I did have unrevoked 3. I remember reading a post that it might have left something behind. What would I look for on my card to see if that's so?
     
  6. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    After it reboots my phone in the beginning it says "sdcard/flash_image:permission denied" then it's a red screen on the computer and the skate boarding androids. I push select for bootloader and it does it's thing for a few minutes but fails to install PC36IMG. Then it says main version is older! Update fail!
     
  7. Cru

    Cru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
  8. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
  9. Cru

    Cru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you format your SD card, I'd start the root process over from step 1 after formatting then Everything should be OK.
     
  10. boliviano3

    boliviano3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    17
    I had the same problem when I was trying to root w/ SimpleRoot. What I did was I formatted my sd card, downloaded the eng-PC36IMG.zip from here [TUTORIAL] EVO Full Root|OTA Root|Nand Backup/Restore|Flashing|for n00b's + videos - xda-developers , renamed it to PC36IMG.zip, and pushed it to my sd card manually. I then restarted SimpleRoot and everything went by w/o any problems.
     
  11. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just so I have this straight. I download this, change the name, add it to my empty SD Card, then run simple root normally from my computer and it will use this file? I'll try anything at this point. It's taking forever to format my 32gig card right now.
     
  12. boliviano3

    boliviano3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes, that's what I did when I was having the "main version is older" problem
     
  13. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Cool thanks guys. I'll have to try all this tomorrow as it is my work computer I am doing all this on.
     
  14. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Nothing has changed . It looks like it failed again. I'll try a couple more times. I bet it's that .79 boot instead of .76. Wish I knew how to change that. I even tried it in htcsync. It disconnects from htc sync once it starts anyway. It doesn't even seem to see the pc36img file on my card. It says no image or wrong image and then gives me the main version is older. When I looked at the SDcard it now has 2 PC36IMGs on it. It didn't even use mine that I put on there. What's going wrong that t can't even access a file it put on there?
     
  15. boliviano3

    boliviano3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    17
    Go to extras - clean root files & try it again.
     
  16. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    how do I do that? Where's extras? My card is blank basically.
     
  17. boliviano3

    boliviano3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    17
    Sorry, it's in SimpleRoot
     
  18. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    I had a bunch of stuff here, but I re-read the thread and realized you have a non-stock SD card, so I don't think anything I had wrote would help :)
     
  19. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks anyway. I did copy my stock card over to my new card though. But I just formatted it so it's blank essentially. Mna I have tried everything. I even put the quote on the one.bat file. Nothing is helping.
     
  20. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    This is from that other thread.

    Ok, you should be doing step 1 before doing step 2. Are you getting stuck trying to run the 1-click Simpleroot? You can't do step 2 without an engineering bootloader, so I think Cru is mistaken with the statement that he just did step 2. unrevoked3 doesn't give you the engineering bootloader. Cru must have run simpleroot first. And I'm pretty sure step 2 is not necessary if you successfully complete step 1. Step 2 is for getting back to stock 2.1 if you're running something custom, either 2.1 or 2.2.
     
  21. Cru

    Cru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just to clarify, I did step 1 first, just poor wording on my part.
     
  22. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yeah I am stuck at step 1.
     
  23. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    details, please.

    You press the first button "Root" and what happens?
     
  24. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    It can't seem to run the PM36ING files. It just keeps saying access denied and the main is older. I've tried putting them on the card manually. I Changed the " in the one.bat file. I pretty much tried all the tricks in the thread below. I tried to use titanium backup today and it worked so it looks like I am still rooted with unrevoked. Others have had it work though with unrevoked in place. I don't know how to get rid of unrevoked. Hopefully unrevoked forever will fix that.

    [Program] Updated: 8-5-10: 1 Click SimpleRoot OTA 1.47.651.1 Edition - Page 159 - xda-developers
     
  25. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    oh, you're coming from 2.2 correct? I helped you nandroid an old 2.1 backup?

    hmm, i wonder if that's the reason you're having issues. You could try running the new unrevoked4ever. If it works, you'll have the engineering bootloader and NAND unlocked. Then you will be fully rooted and never run into issues like this again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...