Sir Richard Branson is on Crack!!!General


Last Updated:

  1. buzzcon

    buzzcon Well-Known Member Contributor This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    89
    Just stopped by the Virgin Mobile website to make my monthly donation to the cause and (just) noticed that VM now charges $15 a month for Hotspot access. Call me crazy, but isn't data, data? We all pay for an amazing 2.6 Gigs of data per month, should it matter how we download or what downloads it? It frosts my hemorrhoids when I see the telecommunication companies acting like they are doing us consumers a favor by allow us to tether or use as a hotspot (for an added fee of course).

    Thank you for your time. I posted this here because I use a MT and you cannot tether or use it as a hotspot unless it's rooted. Thanks for your patience everyone.

    /rant :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. treysmith

    treysmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    As long you ain't using a bunch of gigs every month it's not worth making a big stink over. They are still making money off of you and people you refer them to, making a big stink just creates bad publicity and people they are profiting off will leave.
    I appreciated devs hard work.
    Thanks, devs for y'all hard work.
     
  3. wanfaltm

    wanfaltm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    As far as I know its only 2.5 gigs for 3g access (and then data is throttled after that), 4g is still unlimited.
     
  4. ShadyBusiness

    ShadyBusiness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    15
    If you're worried about getting caught tethering FoxFi has a nice proxy option.
     
  5. buzzcon

    buzzcon Well-Known Member Contributor This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    89
    Thanks for the info, but I could care less if they know it or not. What are they gonna do about it? Shut down my account? I guess they would lose a customer :rolleyes:
     
  6. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000
    Likes Received:
    921
    That's only because of the 4G running on Sprint's servers, Virgin has finally installed auditing and Broadband 2 Go plans starting in December will be capped at 10 GB of 4G data and I would imagine that the Evo V won't be far behind.
     
  7. borjis

    borjis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    32
    That would be nice, but FoxFi doesn't work on the Triumph currently
     

Share This Page

Loading...