Skipping problem with the music playerSupport


Last Updated:

  1. drnvc

    drnvc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using the HTC music player and it is acting strangely. When I have it in my pocket (with the screen locked) it seems to keep skipping about between tracks. I can recreate this effect by tilting it backwards and forwards and it skips a track.
    I at first thought it would be helped by turning off the accelerometer, but there seems no obvious way of doing that.
    What I have since noticed is that sometimes the player detects my headphones as a headset (a headset icon appears in the top bar) and then I get these problems. When it actually detects them as headphones, which gives a slightly different icon, it seems to actually work perfectly. It seems to be just luck as to which it recognises as, and it makes it useless as a music player.

    Anyone had any problems like this or any idea of a setting which might fix this?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. drnvc

    drnvc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I guess not that many people have the phone yet so less likely anyone has experienced it.
    Anyway I noticed today that it actually seems to change it from headphones to headset detection as soon as it gets jolted around in my pocket so it effectively makes it completely useless as a music player. It's workable if you can keep it still on a given surface.
    I have emailed HTC so will update this if I get any more info.

    Otherwise a great phone, but playing music was one of the key things for me. I should probably try a few third party music players to see if the same thing happens.
     
  3. apashton

    apashton Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    are you sure your not hitting the skip button on the headset (Microphone bit)? i did this a couple of times the other day, just moved it out of the way, no more skipping.
     
  4. drnvc

    drnvc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using headphones not a headset so there is no button to press.

    Looking around the internet it seems other people have had similar problems and it's probably either to do with the jack/socket or HTC's player.

    I've been using decent headphones but apparently if you use the bundled rubbish in-ear ones then it's not a problem any more, something to do with a better connection. I will try this tonight but still annoying if you have to use their crappy headphones just to prevent it skipping. Or I read somewhere that a gold contact works better.
     
  5. drnvc

    drnvc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. jjones666

    jjones666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    sure it's not the shake 2 shuffle feature same as on an ipod?
     
  7. drnvc

    drnvc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could well be, but that doesn't explain the weird headphone/headset recognition thing. Either way, if it is that and I can turn it off then would hopefully solve the issue. I can't find out how to do that though, and the music player seems to be very light on options.
     
  8. drnvc

    drnvc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thought I may as well update in case anyone has a similar problem. Seems it is just the jack connection so using the bundled headphones works fine. Annoying as they are crap and in ear but maybe i can find some other headphones that work or someone can suggest some. Still no response from HTC either so I hope they start addressing some of these issues
     
  9. TMSsecret

    TMSsecret Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had the samen problem as well with my HTC desire. It fast skipps true all the songs as soon as i put it in my pocket.

    ALSO the headphone icon changes to "headphone icon with microphone" although i just have regular headphone.....


    I hope for a fix real soon.
     
  10. exH

    exH New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a hunch I knew what this is and a possible workaround.

    If it was the headphone jack and ppl reporting all sorts of varying quality standard phones and jacks failing, it has to be the HTC control system, the physical switches which are the big difference.

    The HTC headset 3.5mm jack has four connections (separated by the black bands) from the tip to the hilt. Standard jacks of course only need three. left, right and common. HTC's extra connection is the one right up by the hilt.

    I selotaped to insulate this connector to try to eliminate it. So far 100% success. I've tried it on a few connectors now. Selotape is likely to wear over time so it could fail due to frequent use.

    Technique:
    You only want a layer two of tape. Wrap the whole plug in a layer or two , then using scissors, score a cut about 2-3mm from the hilt and scrape away the tape, leaving the 2-3mm on the plug.

    i judged the 2-3mm by eye, looking at the plug that came on the HTC headset.

    So it could be I'm right, or the tape is just seating the plug better. Either way it works for me.

    G'luck.

    exH
     
  11. AdelaideYank

    AdelaideYank New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello, I had the same problem and I thought I'd share my experiences.

    HOW TO TELL IF IT WILL FAIL AND SKIP


    When you put in the original HTC or iPhone headphones with mic (4-conductor TRRS connector), it shows an icon of headphones with a mic (a headset) at the top of the screen.


    But when you put in standard headphones or connecting cable (say for PC speakers or to hook to car audio), the Desire is *supposed* to show an icon of headphones (with no mic) at the top of the screen. If it does this (even when you jiggle the cable), it will work perfectly and there will be no skipping.


    The problem is that sometimes it will detect a 3.5mm standard connector (headphones or audio cable) as a microphone/headset (TRRS) instead of the headphones (TRS). If you have plugged in regular headphones, but there is a headset/microphone icon on the screen, it will fail and skip.


    SOLUTIONS
    1. Break in the 3.5mm jack in the Desire. I found that after I'd plugged and unplugged various 3.5mm cables from the Desire about 100 times, the problem mostly went away. I now only have 1 PC connector cable that will regularly show the headset
     
    brad-short likes this.
  12. danwilkie

    danwilkie New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is happening to me with a set of Sennheiser headphones - so not cheap rubbish ones. Even if they were - I shouldn't have to change my headphones or connect an adapter (annoying) just to be able to listen to music on my phone without it going haywire. Sort it out HTC! Do we think this could be fixed with a software fix? As it sounds more like hardware...
     
  13. binsoutonfriday

    binsoutonfriday New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    had the same thing happen today htc desire music player - random skips - with an old set of sony head phones i use at work. phone/mic icon on screen. "borrowed" my daughters ipod phones, same again.

    Listening now through a set of in-ear sony phones that were in a drawer, they've a bit of a shoulder near the hilt that prevents the jack from being fully inserted. Phones are displayed on screen without the mic.no probs at all with playback. I've shaken the htc (gently :)), pocketed it, still no skips.

    now to try to get someting other than static from the fm radio.....

    having played with the sony's with no problem i tried the iphones phones again and they worked just fine - headset icon on screeen - no mic. so i wiggled them a bit and the mic returned along with the skipping.

    no amount of wiggling affects the sony in-ear set - (so far ).

    pic shows sony (black) v ipod - if you can spot the difference .....

    [​IMG]
     
    brad-short likes this.
  14. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    17
    Great stuff guys. This drove me mad this evening when i was walking the dog. i thought it was the Google Listen app i had installed . . .

    Solution seems to be the shoulder issue of your phones AND the manufacturing tolerance of your phone. Dont push headphones in too hard and you will get the correct symbol and all is ok, but if the manufacturing tolerance is poor, and you push the headphones in too hard you could trigger the headset icon instead, thus resulting in the music player issue.

    I do think Adelaideyank has a point about working the connector to accept your phones. This would make sense and seems to have worked for me with my Philips loop ear phones.

    Will report back :)
     
  15. rasher

    rasher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    The cause is almost certainly related to using a regular 3.5mm TRS connector headphone. The phone will interpret jiggling the cord as button events from a headset.

    A widget to work around this problem by simply catching and discarding all such button presses (whether real or imagined by the phone) has been made and is available on the market: Reddit thread by the author
     
    paradox183 and brad-short like this.
  16. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    17
    Awesome! Open source at work ladies and gents. Bought a 99p lead to sort this but would rather not use it. Sorted!:D
     
  17. drnvc

    drnvc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot Rasher for posting that. All works fine now with my old headphones. I hope HTC fixes this soon though, as it's pretty annoying.
     
  18. gmass

    gmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have the same problem. Please contact HTC directly by either email or telephone quoting Ref: 10GBD250000501.
    They want to hear from as many people as possible. They also want to know the make of headphone, to come up with a fix.

    Thank you
     

Share This Page

Loading...