Skype for Wildfire now available


Last Updated:

  1. [fade]

    [fade] Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Skype has released mobile edition for Android 2.x phones.
    Im at work and dont have access to any wifi in order to test it.
    I have just installed it and at first glance it looks nice, but thats pretty much it.
    It keeps crashing when i try to open My Info tab, it also keeps crashing when i try to send a message.
    Since i started it, i found no way of exiting the application and it continues running in background.
    Even when it crashes, and which is a lot, it restarts itself, so i had to do a force kill.
    I tried calling echo test service, but it crashed there also.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ziemas

    Ziemas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the info. Where did you find it? I get a 'Skype is unavailable for your mobile' message when I try to download it from skype.com/m .

    EDIT: After some searching I found out that skype isn't supported on the Wildfire due to the low screen resolution. Of all the dumb things.......
     
  3. [fade]

    [fade] Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    I did not used the android market, i found it in Apktor/Aptoide repository. Its dated from 14th of this month. It was officially released few days ago. Resolution was perfect, but it had problems running. They say they are working to support more devices, for now its available for 2.x androids.
     
  4. Ziemas

    Ziemas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    According to the Skype forums the reason it doesn't run on the Wildfire is the screen resolution, and that's what causes all the crashes. Sounds like a totally bizarre reason to me, but what do I know....

    Skype not available in Android Marketplace - Skype Community - Page 2
     
  5. ewan

    ewan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    VYKE is coming to Android, cheaper than Skype ;)
     
  6. [fade]

    [fade] Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have skype installed, the resolution is perfect, but on skype webpage it says that the phone needs 600 mhz cpu, wildfire is 528. Its hard to beleive that they cant optimize their code to work on wildfire, who has lower resolution, thus more cpu time available for apps to use.

    Almost everyone who complained at skype forum are owners of wildfire, hope they will make skype for wildfire.
     
    unclephilg likes this.
  7. Patsypants

    Patsypants New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the UK, where I'm currently living, Skype is available through the service provider "3", but not on any other provider. Does anyone know, if I were to buy a 3 pay as you go sim and download skype, would it stay on my phone when I transferred sims and would it work on the new network?
     
  8. teotino

    teotino New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    apparently it pass a long time since we expected Vyke to launch an android app but, at least, it was well worth.
    I installed the app on my wildfire S and now I can use Vyke as if I am at home.
    It works on wifi and 3g but, whaen you have no data connection it routes the international call to a local number (and I have it for free with my contract) and connect to the other number abroad... and it send sms as well!
    so far so good, no crashes no bugs and, all in all, is on the official android market. ( https://market.android.com/details?id=org.vykesipdroid.sipua )
    I would suggest Vyke rather than skype which usually is blocked by mobile operators and it cost more if not on wifi
     

Share This Page

Loading...