Skype Mo a No Go?General


Last Updated:

  1. andyandroid81891

    andyandroid81891 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    Overtime I open Skype it tells me that it can only be used on VZW in the US. It redirects me to a webpage and that's all i get. Tried uninstall and reinstall. Am I missing something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jfunk

    jfunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    78

    Perhaps an obvious question, but what is your timezone set to?
     
  3. andyandroid81891

    andyandroid81891 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    Set to network automatic.
     
  4. mouse2146

    mouse2146 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting the same message as the op. What does the time zone have to do with anything??????

    <--new android user, winmo convert.
     
  5. wildland

    wildland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    55
    I found skype to be worthless... apparently vzw has it locked down so that it only functions over 3g, and the only reason I can imagine using it (since I really never make international calls) would be to call over wifi when I didn't have voice service (which means I probably don't have data either...). I find it's aggressively disabling wifi (when that's my only data connection available) to be basically malware-like... Worthless app. I uninstalled it.
     
  6. klownin5643

    klownin5643 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    i uninstalled today also. what pissed me off is that i spent the time creating an account and all that jazz. only to uninstall it less than 24 hours later cause its simply useless.
     

Share This Page

Loading...