1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Skype on epic 4g?


Last Updated:

  1. viisign

    viisign Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    i don't know where to post this....but is there anyone out there that can please tell me how to use skype on the epic ? i downloaded it and i try to setup an account with it but it keeps saying initializing...and it won't stop. nothing ever happens? i am running 2.1 android or whatever. i really need to use this on my phone cause my sister is moving to florida and this will be the only way for me to talk to her. and i can't get this app to work? thanks to everyone that replies!
     

    Advertisement
  2. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    25
    The Skype app page in the app store specifically states that Skype requires Android 2.2 on the Galaxy S (The epic is a Galaxy S phone).

    It won't work until we get 2.2.

    -SF
     
  3. viisign

    viisign Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    when will we get 2.2.???
     
  4. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    25
  5. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    I hav had it since Nov. along with Skype; but since I've been introduced to ooVoo, I don't even use Skype anymore on my computer.. (of course u still need 2.2 for that) It lets me do Phone to computer Video chats & works great...
     
  6. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I have Skype running on EPIC (I have Android 2.2), but you can only make Skype calls over Wi-Fi and it doesn't video chat. This sucks!
     
  7. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    Check out ooVoo...
     
  8. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I have ooVoo and it's great! Unfortunately, a lot more people are on Skype. I also wish the ooVoo app wouldn't automatically start when I boot my phone.
     
  9. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yeah I don't like the startup thing... but as far people, I hav all the folks that I kno on ooVoo.. Especially ones I chat with on the computer...
     
  10. trayack

    trayack Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to use ooVoo but I'm waiting for god damn upgrade. I don't want to do the half assed leaked one. Its really starting to piss me off.
     
  11. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    You don't need 2.2 to use Skype. It works on my kid sister's Virgin Mobile Intercept that is on 2.1 still.
     

Share This Page

Loading...