Skyraider... WHY NOT WORK?


Last Updated:

  1. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been trying to update to the latest skyraider from the one right before that, but it seems that right after I install the rom my phone will constantly freeze up and crash... I've followed the driections exactly but every time I do it I find myself flashing the old rom back...Help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Two_cents

    Two_cents Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    27
    are you doing a full wipe? the new skyraider has alot different in the system files so you shouldn't restore any sytem files via titanium... [desktop]htc sense 1.0 is ok to restore your layout but most other system files need to be configured fresh.. I have even had to reinstall a few apps fresh from the market cause they were giving me a FC alot... Pandora, Rom manager,
     
  3. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I am doing a full wipe before doing the rom...
     
  4. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    Did you check the md5 hash to make sure the file is not getting corrupted while downloading?
     
  5. load97

    load97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    I just did my first Root and first Rom yesterday. Went to Skyraider Sense 3.3.2 and had no problems.

    Could it be a bug with the USB drivers that need to get loaded?
     
  6. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    13
    Are you running the 2.15 radio?
     
  7. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    I downloaded it both on the computer and through rom manager, and got the same results for both.

    Yes, I am using the 2.15 radio.
     
  8. androidxen

    androidxen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    8
    It'd be best if you wrote out everything that you did, in exact terms.
     
  9. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1

    I downloaded it through Rom Manager the first time, and I used Titanium Backup to save all my apps. After that was done, I used Rom Manager to install the rom. When you select to install a rom it asks you to back up your current rom, and to wipe data and cache. I selected both. After the rom installs, it will boot up my phone, and then It will ask me all the set up questions. I skipped them for now, and when I push the power button on my phone to put it in sleep mode or whatever, that is when it crashes. It will also crash if I leave it sit for 10 seconds.

    I restored my previous rom (The previous version of skyraider that I backed up before isntalling the current one), and downloaded the rom off here: [ROM] SkyRaider Sense 3.3.2 Final [UPDATED: 10/20/10] - xda-developers
    I put that on my SD card and booted my phone into clockwork. I wiped data and cache from here, and then tried to install the rom. I got the same results. I also tried again but I did a factory reset first, then redid these steps. I got the same results.

    Idk what else to do....
     
  10. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    Honestly, sometimes a phone just doesn't play nice with a given rom. Same with kernels and such. Try out something else, see if it works.
     
  11. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ehh... I dont know about that... The last one worked.. why wouldn't this one? There has to be something I'm doing wrong...
     
  12. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Are you making sure you are downloading the rom and not the patch. You have to download the one that says 3.3 final first. The second link is just a patch, not a full rom. Check the md5 hash too, it should be 9062ebddf7cc6b929be08d3f702de74c
     
  13. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1

    Yes, I am sure I downloaded the right rom. How do I check the md5? Also, should I be installing the rom right from the last skyraider? Or should I flash a stock rom first?
     
  14. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    It seems like it only crashes now when I put it into sleep mode (Press the power button)

    What's going on?
     
  15. Two_cents

    Two_cents Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    27
    try going to rom manager and select "fix permissions" I've only done it once but it helped with fc issues
     
  16. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    *leaping hug*

    THANK YOU SO MUCH! IT WORKED!

    Edit: Blah, I lied.... It worked for a little bit but now its crashing again -.-"
     
  17. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have S-On Could that be the source of my problems?
     
  18. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    13
    That is it. You must have S-off
     
    Storm613 likes this.
  19. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do I turn it off? Should I run unrevoked again?
     
  20. Storm613

    Storm613 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
  21. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    13
    Glad you got it working!!
     
  22. vico-c

    vico-c Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anyone know if you can use the Revolution Theme with skyraider? Im running Virtuous right now and that theme is pretty awesome. Thanks in advance!
     
  23. Two_cents

    Two_cents Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    27
    I take for granted that I have s-off... the new unrevoked does it for you automatically ... I did mine the 2 step way back in the day it was released and have the newest 2.15.00.09.01 radio... enjoy the rom its a great feeling rom and I've been on it since he went to 3.3
     
  24. REYES

    REYES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    I didn't read anything about you wiping Dalvik Cache. You need to make sure to wipe it, and wipe it again if you need to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...