sLCD Incredibles


Last Updated:

  1. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    So, I just got a new Incredible with the sLCD display. Pretty nice phone, got it all rooted and flashed with unrevoked and noticed the clockwork recovery didnt give a display. So I whent ahead and flashed amonRA instead. Everythings working OK, but whenever I try and flash cyanogen or any roms similar I get stuck at the 1st boot screen (HTC Incredible) I have gotten a few roms to install but none of the ones I wanted to try unforunatly.

    Is this perhaps being due to the lack of support for the slcd screen?

    Does anyone have cyanogen installed on their SLCD Droid Incred?
     

    Advertisement
  2. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    I seem to be in a hot spot, I tried installing cyanogen thru rom manager and clockwork even though I couldnt see anything and now I have no visible recovery and I tried using the PB31IMG.zip from here Amon_RA Recovery - The Incredible List but it cannot find anything there. Tried flashing with fastboot and get this no matter what I try

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. /SDK/tools/fastboot flash recovery PB31IMG_RA_inc_1.7.0.5_GNM/PB31IMG/recovery.img
    3. sending 'recovery' (4532 KB)... OKAY
    4. writing 'recovery'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
    5.  
    I cant get radio images to flash this way either is there something I am missing??? I used unrevoked3 and it does say S-OFF at the top of the bootloader.

    Anyone have any ideas to get amon ra back on here? I can use all my tools thru the ADB shell in the clockwork even tho I cannot see it. so if theres a commandline tyo flash recoves that would work, anyone know it?

    I see the card has to be fat32, I left it stock it says vfat under mounts so I imagine that aspect is ok
     
  3. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    I got it with flash_image thru the adb shell. I still wonder why I cant just do it with PB31IMG files tho
     
  4. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    I'm pretty sure vfat is not the same thing.

    format the card, it DOES NOT come as fat32 if your using the stock card.
     
  5. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    So. I just reformatted my SD after fdisking it and toggling it as FAT32 using this:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. mkdosfs -F 32 /dev/sdf1
    3.  

    Still shows up as vfat and I am 99% sure vfat means fat32, I have been dealing with linux for years and have NEVER seen the words fat32 appear anywhere, just vfat.

    So I have s-off, a fat32 sdcard, and I still cannot get ANY PB31IMG.zip files to install via HBOOT. Bah
     
  6. doug piston

    doug piston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    57

    Where in the PNW? Bring it to me I will get it to fat32. I kid. And I can't believe I am about to say this, Try to format it in windows. That will get you going.

    See post.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=9342153&postcount=5


    Also if on Ubuntu you could try KDE partition manager
     
  7. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    I don't have windows and vmware isnt setup yet. Im on gentoo emerging gparted now


    Im having a hard time seeing the command line not formatting it properly. But I guess I can burn a windows installer and format it in the setup. just to be safe
     
  8. doug piston

    doug piston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    57

    I agree with your second statement but have seen where linux mucks it up. BUt did you read that whole link?? It describes the code to run for fat32

    Your specific issue is probably a matter of a mis-matched label. If you used fdisk to create the partitions, the default type code is 0x83 (Linux data). You should explicitly change that type code (using 't' in fdisk) if you want to store something other than a Linux-native filesystem on the partition. For FAT, you should change the type code to 0x01, 0x04, 0x06, 0x0b, 0x0c, or 0x0e, depending on the FAT variety in use. (Type 'L' at an fdisk prompt to see a list of type codes.) For FAT-32, the usual type code is 0x0c.
     
  9. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    I just formatted FAT32 thru windows format tool. Still doesnt see the images. I even copied onto the SD thru windows. The sdcard is definately fat now. Is there anything else I should be chekcing?
     
  10. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    I also just flashed unrevoked forever just incase and no dice
     
  11. doug piston

    doug piston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    57
    Although rare I have seen sd cards be bunk as well. If you have another give it a shot. Also you seem to know what you are doing but I will say it anyways, make sure it is just a PB31IMG.zip in windows it will already have the .zip added so just rename to PB31IMG
     
  12. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    I am trying another SD card I found, and yes I am aware of the proper naming of the file, thanks for the tips tho
     
  13. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    I guess it was the SDcard, thanks for the advice!
     
  14. doug piston

    doug piston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    57
    Good deal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...