Slow 3G


Last Updated:

  1. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    11
    Is anyone else experiencing very slow 3G connection speeds? It seems to be taking forever to load up websites on my Incredible right now.
     

    Advertisement
  2. gvillager

    gvillager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    53
    VZW is still integrating the Alltel network in the Richmond, VA area. You may have another week of issues till the kinks are worked out.
     
    Cmdr007 likes this.
  3. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks. Was there a press release or news item on this?
     
  4. Blondie7303

    Blondie7303 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in Columbus, Oh, and have for the last month been experiencing v......e..........r............y slow network... Is there a signal boost app????:confused:
     
  5. gvillager

    gvillager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    53
    No, it hasn't been announced yet. I've got a friend that works for VZW and he's very familiar with the situation in Richmond. They are expecting to have everything completed this weekend. Monday morning dial *228 and select option 1 to reprogram your phone. Call tech support if your issues are not resolved by that time.

    I'll try and get the scoop on Columbus.
     
  6. Vmanisme

    Vmanisme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    149
    Yeah I went to Richmond area and my Ally was much slower there. Works fine down here in Williamsburg area though.
     
  7. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    Yeah, it's spotty. In NW Washington, DC the speed is barely 3G, I think they just lock it at the lowest speed you can have and still be 3G because they know I'll call them again. :D
    At my house ~18 miles away, the speed is at the higher end of what VZW is able to put out. I think the Dulles corridor is a little flaky because of all of the construction. They probably nailed some towers in the hurry to get the rail line in. ;)
     
  8. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    We need some speedtest results pronto! :D
     
  9. dots

    dots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    245
    Here's my 3G speed while tethering.

    [​IMG]

    Anywhere i travel is the Southeast Michigan area i have had consistent 3g speed.
     
  10. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    2.5 Mb? I can dream can't I?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. gvillager

    gvillager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    53
    Are you still having network issues in the Richmond area?
     
  12. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah, I am. I just ran a speed test and got:

    177 kbps down
    1607 kbps up
     
  13. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    11
    Still getting these speeds today. Argh! This is so aggravating!
     
  14. gvillager

    gvillager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    53
    Call tech support and have them open a trouble ticket. Otherwise, it probably won't get fixed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...