Smart Pad China?


Last Updated:

  1. austinbyrnes

    austinbyrnes New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got this as a gift in last few days

    - smart Pad android OS WIFI 7.0 inch touchscreen G-sensor IPA...USD161.98 Wholesale Price at DHgate.com

    it comes with android 1.5 on it and has a hell of alot of chinese apps on it i have fooled round with i a bit and been to android market and downloaded stuff like facebook twitter sky news, pac man docments to go for word files.

    it nice device and i really like it what is a pain is i cant seem to delete the chinese apps. i read the instructions sheet that came with it and it says i uninstall apps through a program call apk.

    i open this but i am only allowed uninstall the apps i have installed from the market not the apps that were already on the tablet.

    if anyone as info about this device can you reply to my post or message me please.

    also i dont know how to update the android o.system to 1.5 to the latest one.

    can a different operating system go on this.


    any help would be appreicated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    You can't uninstall applications in ROM without root (and probably this device can't be rooted).
    Unfortunately, this tablet looks like a device without support and updates. Like most of chinese tablets (no wonder, they're sold for $100 including S&H in my coutry). There are exceptions, like some tablets from SmartQ or Eken with (official or community) support and Android updates or tablets with more operating systems (Android, Windows Mobile, Linux - but this brings mostly problems only).
     
  3. austinbyrnes

    austinbyrnes New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i downloaded an app in the market called rom manager.

    i open it and the lay out looks like this.

    Recovery
    Flash clockworkmod recovery(you must have have this installed to flash and restore roms!)

    Reboot into recovery

    boot into recovery mode for manual managment.

    Rom Management

    install rom from sd card

    download rom

    check for rom updates

    install from QR code

    Backup and restore

    manage and restore backups

    backup current rom

    Utilties

    fix permissions

    Partition SD card

    More Recoveries

    All Clockwork Recoveries







    Can someone talk me through this if possible as i have not used this before and dont want to accidentily wipe the whole tablet.



    i also downloaded a backup Program called Titanium Backup.



    any help would be appreicated.



     
  4. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    Rom Manager can install Recovery manager and Custom ROMs on rooted devices. But the Recovery and ROM has to be "cooked" for your device, but I think this Smartpad is not widely supported. The same with Titanium backup, it's intended for rooted devices (but you can use MyBackup or MyBackup Pro to make backups).
    You can remove ROM installed applications, if you have root access:
    - install "Android Terminal Emulator" Android Terminal Emulator v1.0.12 Application for Android | Tools
    - run it
    - enter (without quotes) "su"
    - if you get "permission denied", your device don't have root access and you're out of luck
    - if you get no message, reply and I will will post instructions how to do it
     
  5. redsteel

    redsteel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same Tablet and installed "android terminal emulator". Tried the command "su" and got this message:

    su: uid 10047 not allowed to su

    That means we (me and austinbyrnes) are SOL :( ?
     
  6. jtbnet

    jtbnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    45
    That means you are Not 'root'ed... try installing 'Universal Androot', if that doesn't do it then try 'z4root', and if that doesn't doit then try 'Super OneClick' for rooting using an ADB connection from a PC... these are the 3 easiest solutions I try on every new device first... then if all else fails go back to manual steps used in the early days to root Android devices...
     
  7. redsteel

    redsteel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried and failed. I used "Universal Androot",it says "device rooted" but nothing,because then i try unroot and appear the message "this device is not rooted". Tried the super oneclick,and nothing".

    I used factory reset and both programs and nothing. So I can say "I am SOL"?

    Edit:wait,what steps are you talking about? (i mean,link or something,please?)

    Sorry for the English,still learning x_x
     
  8. jtbnet

    jtbnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    45
    I've seen this behavior using Universal Androot when a device is Partially rooted... it gets confused and thinks it's fully rooted but when you say unroot it can't find everything to remove so says not rooted...

    Do you hve the Android SDK installed and thus can connect the pad to PC and run ADB ???
     
  9. Zonjer

    Zonjer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    How will I know if I have Android SDK in my Android device? And whats ADB? I did SuperOneClick the other day and I think it says successfully rooted and I got SuperUser icon in my apps.

    So how will I confirm if my device is properly rooted?
     
  10. redsteel

    redsteel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    mhmm,no,i don't have the Android SDK. I'm going to try that.

    And how can i root using SDK and ADB?, Can you send me a link for that,please?
     
  11. jtbnet

    jtbnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    45
    Once you can get adb to work, so drivers are properly installed then try SuperOneClick for rooting as it does all the adb steps from the PC... You must run it as administrator I believe....
     
  12. redsteel

    redsteel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    And how can i check if the ADB is working/detecting my tablet?
     
  13. jtbnet

    jtbnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    45
    If it's working then you should be able to type 'C:\> .\adb shell' from the directory where you installed the SDK and find adb and you should be connected to a shell...
     
  14. redsteel

    redsteel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    well,before that,i tried the command "adb devices" and i got this "11223344 device". That mean it found the tablet or is a generic message?

    and i got into the shell,what command I should use or something? (sorry for being a noob,but...first time doing this ^^')
     
  15. bencav5_99

    bencav5_99 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    what about z4root?
     
  16. jtbnet

    jtbnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    45
    Could you type 'su' to the '$' prompt and get the root prompt ('#') ?

    Did you try to use 'SuperOneClick' from the PC to root it??? If you get the root prompt then it's partially rooted and likely just needs Superuser.apk and maybe busybox installed and SuperOneClick installs both of those for you...
     
  17. redsteel

    redsteel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got into ADB Shell and when i type 'su', the next line just say su and nothing (always #)

    I think this device can't be rooted T.T

    Edit:hey,maybe I forgot to mention,the device is with Android 1.5, this is from "About MID":
    Model Number:sdkDemo
    Firmware Version:1.5
    Kernel Version: 2.6.25 rockchip version 1.2.7 (ruiguan)
    Build Number: RK-1.3.2.eng.root.20100630.145439

    Maybe I need an older version of z4root or superoneclick.
     
  18. Dodie

    Dodie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does any one know where I can get a connector for the Smarpad to connect it to my desktop. I have looked at all my usual sites. Regular USB size on both ends.
    Going crazy here. Also, anone know information on the Smartpad. Instructions are darn near non-existant for it.
    Help please.:confused:
     
  19. taou

    taou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Things online credible?
     

Share This Page

Loading...