SMS problems after installing custom ROM


Last Updated:

  1. The Fergmeister

    The Fergmeister Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    The past twice I have installed custom roms (modaco 3.2 and now villainrom 12) I have found that I have been unable to send SMS messages, although I have been able to access the internet and make calls.

    For some reason, the APN settings all remained, but during the process of installing the new rom, my message centre number (in the message settings) seemed to vanish.

    Just wanted to post this info in case anyone else finds themself in the same situation as I reflashed everything about 4 times before I even thought to check my message centre number.
     

    Advertisement
  2. retrorom

    retrorom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    You need to go to messages then settings and put in the service center number of your carrier, you can easily find a list online like this one SMS Gateway - G - SMSC settings, SMSC List v2

    I had the same problem, now it works :)

    If you have any difficulties just let me know...
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I believe I had the same problem once. Via their website I got T-Mobile to send all the settings to my phone.
     
  4. stoney73

    stoney73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    9
    if you type in *#*#4636#*#* , go to phone information. scroll down, go to smsc, press refresh, if no number comes up, type in the service center number that pertains to you particular service. press update, and it should let you send texts again.
     
  5. retrorom

    retrorom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    Exactly, ...either this way, or through the settings menu in the sms-settings options. All you have to do is re-enter the sms service number. I found this out myself when I had the same problem because I looked into it, but I have NO IDEA how that number got erased. Maybe someone can tell me? My guess would be through a wipe and/or custom rom installation. But then again it happened to me once, not everytime I flashed a new rom... :confused:

    Any ideas
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    It happened to me twice, seemingly randomly. I flash new ROMs all the time, so that's not it. Plus, the problem persisted even if I restored nandroid backups.

    Perhaps it's down to a certain buggy versions of custom ROMs that wipe out the number when flashed?
     
  7. sjones

    sjones Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please could you elaborate on this a bit? I've just got a rooted Hero (VillainROM 3.4, Android 2.1 apparently) for my O2 contract SIM. Am loving it, but I simply can't get MMS messaging working (SMS is OK), despite numerous combinations of APNs. I wondered if this could be the culprit.

    Thing is, in the 'settings' area of my Messages app, I don't see anywhere to add a carrier number (in fact many of the settings fields are greyed out).

    Any advice would be massively appreciated, as this is driving me mental...
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Offtopic: Villain 3?!? You really need to update your ROM. That's one of the old, cobbled together from various phone ROMs.

    Switch to a ROM based on the official hero 2.1 release, like villain 12, before you go trying to troubleshoot anything. Don't get me wrong, I think you'll still have to fix this problem when you switch to an updated ROM, but you'd be doing yourself a favour by updating.
     
  9. sjones

    sjones Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    :eek: Yeah, I quickly realised that I'm WAY behind. Having only just stepped into the 21st century as far as mobiles goes I was building up the courage to upgrade the ROM, but am scared of getting out of my depth. 'Bricking it' could have two meanngs in this context...
     
  10. RhysD

    RhysD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there something like this to get MMS working, im telus hero unlocked and on rogers, all my apn is perfect and i cant send pictures, need a fix, running Villain12, was running SenseHero B5 because its the only rom i can get mms working on but the rom is terrible, so ridiculously slow! so any help??
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I've never had to deal with this before (haven't ever sent an MMS), but does this thread help?
     
  12. RhysD

    RhysD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah im in canada on rogers, its an unlocked hero, never had problems with it before root, and all of a sudden just stopped working one day. by the looks of it those scripts are for UK
     
  13. sjones

    sjones Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was even better advice than you may have thought Xyro - today I took the plunge & updated the phone to VillainROM12 (it was a fairly anxious 30 minutes, but at least it was already rooted...). Not only is the new ROM streets ahead of the old version I had installed, but the MMS problem APPEARS to be sorted! There was a shaky start, but MMS appears to be going both ways OK now.

    Thanks for shaming me into it!
     
  14. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Good to hear :)
     
  15. TripNDasiesMC

    TripNDasiesMC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so I know its been years simca poshas been on this post, but I have a Samsung galaxy light. Running cm12. I wiped the data like an idiot and now I have the SMS problem. Can't receive or send calls or texts. Can someone please help... I am with metro also.
     

Share This Page

Loading...