• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

SMS Virus? Is this possible!?

The other day my friend told me that he got a message through Face Book from me that was a keylogger link. I looked, and I had sent a similar message to everybody on my friends list, and it was sent through FB mobile.

I downloaded Droid Antivirus software (lookout and antivirus) and antivirus came up with an "SMS" based virus (in other words something that was received through text messages) Right now I'm REALLY concerned about everything in my phone as far as information goes... this thing has phone numbers, addresses, e-mails... everything.

What can I do to be totally, and 100% sure that I've fixed this, and how can I prevent it from happening again? Right now, I'm changing passwords for everything that may have been compromised on the phone.

P.S. I feel like a total noob right now. I've gone a very long time on my computer without getting viruses or spyware, or any of that... I've only had my phone for a couple of weeks now and it's already got one. I didn't even know you could GET a virus on a phone!

Sure you didn't get phished? Sounds like you clicked on a phishing link - met a page that looked like facebook login and then logged in? I bet you did.

Change your facebook password and I bet it stops.

Yeah, I'm sure it's possible. I already changed my FB password through my computer in case there's a keylogger attached to whatever happened on my phone.

In fact, I changed the password for my e-mail (hotmail and google) myspace, and even Last.fm and Pandora Radio.

Upvote 0
Far far far more likely that you just got a FB virus that has nothing to do with your phone.

Tell us the name of the security app you downloaded and what message it gave you exactly, and we'll help try and run down all angles for you :)