So does EVO officially support 802.11nSupport


Last Updated:

  1. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    176
    If so, what routers are people using and what kind of success?
     

    Advertisement
  2. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    Yes. WRT150n by Linksys.
     
  3. greykmb

    greykmb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, Airport Extreme. I have noticed a slight improvement while browsing with the stock browser.
     
  4. IMDANDROID

    IMDANDROID Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    D-Link DIR 655 - so far so good.
     
  5. dels28

    dels28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    He is saying officially, so are you saying that you have wireless n without changing the configuration on your phone?
     
  6. IMDANDROID

    IMDANDROID Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Correct. The last update HTC released included a wi-fi range fix, and they also enabled wireless N support. My router is set to N only, my EVO see's it and connects @ 65Mbps, speedtest chimes in at 8.98Mbps DL and 1.78Mbps UL.
     
  7. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    on a good day i'm slightly above that, no settings, no root. if i could just get the battery to last more than 8 hours ill be all set, well.... till froyo COME TO PAPA you little sh%^t


    netgear wnr1000
     
  8. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    41
    Oh cool ... I'm upgrading to a N router tomorrow, and I was worried about the Evo dialing down the speed with its Wireless-G. Good to know it can do N!
     
  9. IMDANDROID

    IMDANDROID Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    No root here either, getting about 32 hours with talk, text, Gmail, Facebook / Twitter, some browsing, gps on, LWP, Weather Forecast Widget, I think that's it. The trick that works for me (that I found on this site) is to fully charge (while EVO is on) then disconnect after green light turns on. I then let it drop to about 90%, which is usually within the first hour, then I plug it back in until fully charged again. At this point, I unplug and good to go for 32 hours..
     
  10. Shawnz

    Shawnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    38
    D-Link DGL-4500:

    [​IMG]

    I'm seeing N speeds with my Evo since the update.
     
  11. Traceamount

    Traceamount Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    27
    I usually get 11-12m DL but dont get more than 2.1 UL on my home wifi G. Havent upgraded to N yet. Im using charter cable for net and a Linksys router. Not rooted or anything special.
     
  12. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    176
    So why isn't Sprint advertising this?

    And thanks for the replies. Just moved to Mobile AL, house is bigger and we live on outskirts of 3G.

    Now to figure out which is best. Haven't kept up with the computer tech world last couple years. Are there decent combo cable modems/wireless N routers?
     
  13. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    im on comcast: BLAST level.

    motorola sb6120 modem -- DOCSIS 3.0 support. in the area i live in DOCSIS 3.0 is enabled and the speed is amazing!

    linksys e3000 gigabit router.

    those two are a good combination.

    i just upgraded all my CAT5 to CAT5.e to take advantage of the increased gigabit speed on my intranet.

    the E3000 router is dual band like many others out there, and i have been a fan of linksys equipment for decades. the EVO and the N 2.4ghz side of the router play very nice together...

    once i get home the evo soft hands off to the network and also the voice side connects to the airave with no issues whatsoever...
     
  14. optikalillusi0n

    optikalillusi0n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    25
    Sorry for the dumb question. But is there any way to find out on the phone if it's using wireless N or G ?
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    If you go to your wireless networks setting and tap on your network, it'll show a status box (back out when done).

    If you're on 802.11 g it shows Speed 54 Mbps.

    I believe if you're on n, it'll show much higher, from 150 Mbps on up.
     
  16. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    176
    Where do you live? :)
     
  17. hellcatt

    hellcatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    my evo just says my N is not in range. its 13 feet away.
     
  18. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    whats 13 feet away?

    if you are speaking about the router then you must be certain its broadcasting N on 2.4 ghz band not 5 ghz or any other band.

    verify any wifi passcodes you may need to log on to the network.
     
  19. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    ^That.
     
  20. eyeballer

    eyeballer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    Works great on my N-only network, stock with OTA. Have an Asus RT-N16 flashed with tomato usb - rock solid router.
     
  21. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm confused. Are you suggesting that increasing the speed capacity by switching from 802.11 G to 802.11 N will somehow increase your tower to device download speeds? Certainly, the 8.98 mbps DL & 1.78 UL speeds you are attaining are well within the the speed capacities of B, G, and N.
     
  22. marriedman624

    marriedman624 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    Question: I read that if you have other device connected to the network that aren't N (i.e. G or B), the router will not broadcast in N. Is this true?

    If not, were would I go in my router settings to see which it is broadcasting?
     
  23. Shawnz

    Shawnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    38
    It probably drags down your network speed.

    My setup is G+N on the router settings. My laptops are 802.11G. The Evo still connects at N speeds.

    It probably depends on your router more than anything.
     
  24. higgins14

    higgins14 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yesterday I picked up a new linksys e2000 wireless n router. My speed is 1Mbps... looks like I will be on the phone w/ linksys after lunch.
     
  25. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    **meh**
     

Share This Page

Loading...