So I dropped my INCGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Joshuahist

    Joshuahist Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Now I have dropped my Inc many times (I have the rubber case) and never had a problem. Well on Sunday I was coming home from the airport and dropped it perfectly about 3 feet directly on the screen on a rock and kablooey, it was shattered. I mean ruined to the point where you couldn't touch it without getting cut. However it actually still worked perfectly, but for obvious safety reasons I needed to get a new one.

    To make a long story short I got Verizon to send me a new one, and I couldn't be happier. Now they explained that I didn't receive a new one or a refurbished one, rather one that was returned immedietly by someone. It looks great, works perfectly and is running faster and smoother than my old one did. This is even after I did a backup from AppBrain to re-download over 130 apps.

    My only sadness is that I lost all my levels on Angry birds, and that I had to re-set up my phone with all the little personalizations that I had before.

    Has anyone else had a similar experience with their replacement. My old phone (one that had received the update) It was constantly bogged down, and got better once I did a factory reset, however it still wasn't as smooth as my new one.
     

    Advertisement
  2. msjulie

    msjulie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sounds like you are in the group that going from 2.1->2.2 with clean wipe makes your phone faster.

    When I had to replace mine with 2.2 brand new (well they claimed) I can't say if I noticed much difference; I rooted it right off and restore my apps and setCPU profiles so maybe that hides other differences.
     
  3. boilator

    boilator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you had been rooted and used Titanium Backup you would have been able to get everything back. Additionally, if you were to backup your ROM, you can move the SD card to the new phone, root new phone, and install from your ROM backup.

    I did notice my replacement phone coming with 2.2 installed was faster.

    Lator
     
  4. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    i love that the most devastating thing, besides your phone of course, it angry birds. My backup doesn't restore well going from ID Desire Z port to MIUI. Very sad :(
     
  5. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    18
    You have insurance I take it?
     
  6. Joshuahist

    Joshuahist Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nope, never. Total scam.
     
  7. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9

    how'd you get it replaced then?
     
  8. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    18
    I would like to know this too since I didn't get insurance due to me probably wanting a different phone within months... I can always add a new line for 10 bucks if it comes down to it.
     
  9. FramCire

    FramCire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    173
    If you add the line, dont you have to have a data plan on the new line to get a smartphone?
     
  10. teckstyle

    teckstyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks to the magic of root (and a one hour fight with clockwork recovery and SLCD bug) my replacement Inc works just like the one I pre-ordered. I have all my programs, data, contacts, and even my screen layout. Not sure what I think of the SLCD vs the AMOLED screen yet....
     
  11. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10
    my phone is rooted, all backed up etc..

    I am not currently on appbrain... is that something I should consider in case of an issue?

    with root - are all my apps backed up?
     
  12. drdoom

    drdoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    183
    You should consider appbrain as a way to keep a list of your apps. You should consider Titanium Backup Pro version as a way to backup your apps and keep the data associated with them. It really saves a lot of time with the batch restore/backup features.
     
  13. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes but I still have a dumb phone that I can swap with for that line... and then just activate the new phone on my main line. There's no contract for the data plan, it just goes with the phone.

    More importantly, I'd still really like to know how OP got a replacement without insurance.
     
  14. FramCire

    FramCire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    173
    I was under the impression that in order to get the best price on a smartphone, you had to be upgrading on a line with a data plan. Once you get the phone, you can do whatever you want with it and activate it on any line (with a data plan).

    As it was explained to me, you get the discount for a smartphone to sign a contract with a data plan. If you are upgrading a line without data, you can only get a non-smartphone,

    That was my understanding.

    As for getting a replacement without insurance...... sounds like a fib to me (or he paid for it)
     
  15. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    18
    Nah, I talked to verizon about if I decided to go back to my dumb phone whether I'll still get charged for data. They said no, data is only required for smart phones. So if you lose your phone and you go back to a dumb phone, you won't have to pay for data.

    Yes, I'll have to sign up for a new line with data, but once I register that line with my dumb phone, data will no longer be required. You never sign a contract on the data plan. At that point I'll activate the new phone with my line.
     
  16. AllezDada

    AllezDada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well, congrats if you got this replacement legitimately. If not, shame on you.
     
  17. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    18
    He got it from the Verizon store, how could you not get it legitimately? Unless he stole it.

    BTW adding a line for a smart phone is perfectly legitimate. VZW never makes you sign a contract for the data plan, just extend your contract for 2 years for the line added. They do this for business reason: mainly being that it won't be $9.99 a month if you cancel your primary line... effectively extending your entire contract. In the end, verizon still wins... the advertised "full" price isn't the cost of the phone to Verizon. 2 years at $10/mo is $240... add the $299 for the phone and you can see it adds up to about the "full" price of the phone.

    Don't judge people unless you understand what's going on. It's more illegitiment to use 3rd party tethering since it goes against the contract. What I propose does not go against the contract at all.
     
  18. AllezDada

    AllezDada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    21
    I haven't judged the OP because neither you nor I know what's going on. He has not stated that he added a line. I think that several posters in this thread have been curious about how he did get another phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...