So I have Froyo... How Do I Root Now?


Last Updated:

  1. DanPonjican

    DanPonjican Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    So I finally got my OTA this morning and I'm happy as a toad in a pool of mud. My question is, how do I root now with this new update? Can I still use the unRevoked root?
     

    Advertisement
  2. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Havent been keeping up but I thought Froyo closed the exploit they used for root? Why didn't you root, and run forever root before updating? I may well be wrong and there might be a way around it now but I think you're in a holding pattern now until someone figures it out
     
  3. DanPonjican

    DanPonjican Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I didn't root before because I didn't want to wipe my phone and lose everything. I was hoping to get the OTA and then root after.
     
  4. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    there is currently no method of rooting stock 2.2

    There are a couple rumors of exploit used on 2.2 EVO that may be able to be adapted to the Dinc.
     
  5. TheCowGod

    TheCowGod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    18
    There is a post around here somewhere that links to another post on XDA about a method of going back to stock 2.1 from 2.2. After that you can root, forever, and then install a rooted rom of 2.2. The procedure seemed pretty involved though...
     
  6. richb82

    richb82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    12
    If you believe this statement is true, you probably shouldn't be rooting to begin with.
     
  7. hakoreh

    hakoreh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    I haven't found it - can someone provide the link please?
     
  8. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should of read this before....oh wells
    I'll wait maybe someone will figure something out.
     
  9. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
  10. hakoreh

    hakoreh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
  11. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    It will work, the below should be read as "OTA" OR "RUU" not
    as "OTA RUU" (<--this doesn't exist)

    [GUIDE] How to downgrade from OTA RUU 2.2 to 2.1
     

Share This Page

Loading...