So I just bought a N1 and....


Last Updated:

  1. gamelife1

    gamelife1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought it unlocked and I selected the bullet that said compatible with T-Mobile 3G coverage since thats my current sevice provider. I later realized though that I that their was an AT&T 3G compatible version now. My question is, if I had bought that version would it still have been compatible with T-mobile and did I basically just get jipped out of 3G coverage from AT&T when I could have had it for the same price. Or would buying that version of the phone prevented me from using T-mobiles 3G service. Thanks for any help you can offer.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Re4son

    Re4son Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    uhhh ok i think i understand your question. There are two nexus one

    1. T-mobile 3G (also supports ATT EDGE)
    2. ATT 3G (also supports Tmobile edge)

    NEITHER phone has the capability of doing 3G on BOTH carriers. You need to choose the one with the frequencies that you need.
     
  3. smitty24

    smitty24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    3
    if tmo is your provider, you got the right phone. you cant have both like mentioned previous.
     
  4. gamelife1

    gamelife1 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok word thx. I'm still a little conflicted though, because although I have T-mobile right now I may have to switch to AT&T when I leave for college in a few months, because I checked and T-mobile has no coverage in that area. So, that means I'll be stuck using AT&T's edge network instead of 3G. Unless you think I'll be able to trade in my current N1 for the AT&T one at that time. Does anybody have any idea if thats possible?
     
  5. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,814
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Well you have the 14 days to get a refund (30 days if you're in Cali). I don't know if Google will do the exchange since they are two different products (TMo and AT&T versions) Call them and ask! :) If worst comes to worst, put your TMo N1 on ebay (international) sell it and buy the AT&T version! :D Read some posts where the people that sold their iphone on the international ebay market sold their phones for a higher price than in the ones that sold them on local US market.

    I hope that helps,
    -Roze-
     
  6. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    646
    At the minimum, Google will refund your money for the T-Mobile version minus a restocking fee if you ask to return before 14 days. If you contact them now, they may be willing to do an exchange without a restocking fee, but I don't know.

    The other advantage of the AT&T version it that it has no carrier crap in the ROM. That is, it is unbranded ans well as unlocked. I suspect (but don't know) that the T-mobile version, even if bought without contract, still has the carrier ROM. Someone else will have to confirm.
     
  7. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,814
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    You're mistaken, TMo or any other carrier for that matter has no branding on the phone, so no 'carrier ROM' as you put it. The phone is sold only by Google or another way to put it, Google is the only means to get the phone. Even if you buy it on contract with TMo, you order the phone through Google. And all of the Nexus One phones come unlock. I hope that clears things up.

    Signing off
    -Roze-
     
  8. crabman

    crabman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yep, there is really only two versions, tmo or AT&T with the difference being the radios. If you choose to get the tmo version on contract it will come with a sim, off contract it comes without a sim and you use yours.
     

Share This Page

Loading...