So should Hero ROMs work on the Eris?


Last Updated:

  1. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    Now that I'm rooted, I'm anxious to try out some custom ROMs, but too impatient for Eris-specific ones to be released.

    Do ya'll think ROMs made for the Hero will work fine on the Eris?
     

    Advertisement
  2. refthemc

    refthemc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    No, you will brick your phone
     
  3. charklos

    charklos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    9
  4. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    It's conceivable that Hero roms will be adapted that might work.

    But ones that exist will, certainly, brick your phone, if they work at all.
     
  5. flspnr

    flspnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why?:)
     
  6. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Slightly different hardware all around.

    Different camera board. We have 262k color screen, hero has 65k. Even the processor is a slightly different part.

    It's not far off. But even the subtle differences make it work or not work. Or if it actually boots up at all, probably not do so well.
     
    flspnr likes this.
  7. jamezelle

    jamezelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    15
    +1

    the libs need ported and the kernel needs to be changed among other things
     

Share This Page

Loading...