so the weekend is over...still no update


Last Updated:

  1. trevlynch

    trevlynch Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    I really thought that by the end of the weekend I would be blessed with froyo in all its glory. But nope. I'm thinking about doing the manual update, but my computer is not working. So....is it possible to do the update straight from the phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ragingyeti

    ragingyeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    Most likely. You just have to move the update file to the root of your sd card from the download folder.
     
  3. trevlynch

    trevlynch Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    How would u move it to the root of it? Just take it out of download folder?
     
  4. Schwin97

    Schwin97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    12
    Download Astro from the market, and use it to rename and then copy and paste/move/cut and paste the file to the sdcard folder. I attempted this multiple times over my phone this weekend... And then realized that my AT&T build wasn't the build that this update was looking for.

    Oh well, now the decision to root or wait?
     
  5. ragingyeti

    ragingyeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    Personally, I rooted a while ago to get tethering and various other applications that required it, so the decision for me was easy, haha. I would root though, the update is easy enough to install, and it makes the phone way better. Then again, I'm sure the OTA will be rolling around soon enough, I'm just the impatient type.
     
  6. Schwin97

    Schwin97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    12
    I am also not the most patient... But would really love to get the stock update instead...
     
  7. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    I did it using Astro.

    In all likelyhood, this is the stock update. I forced the 2.1 update 1 with no problems.

    If it turns out that the update is not the full version or finished version you will always be able to install the correct update later. It won't take long for the file to end up on here! Then you can just repeat the process again - easy!
     
  8. ragingyeti

    ragingyeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    If you are on ATT like me, this is most definitely NOT the stock update. Only for TMo versions. Ours will come around eventually...
     
    MartinS likes this.
  9. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Thanks, I forgot to state that the update currently out is for the T-Mobile or Carrier-less original hardware release.
     
  10. ragingyeti

    ragingyeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    I just read that google pulled the update file from their servers. I'm thinking that they were doing a small release to see if it worked before releasing to the masses. Considering a lot of people are having issues (I'm not one of them happily), maybe this isn't the final build and another update will be rolling out soon.
     
  11. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    May or may not be the final ERE27 => Froyo build, but it has definitely been pulled from Google's servers.

    Happy to say that it's not causing me any problems at all.
     
  12. turbosol16

    turbosol16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    9
    Updated this weekend and most everything is working. Some apps are messed up because it seems that Google changed some of the core apps.
     
  13. trevlynch

    trevlynch Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    So now that its been pulled where do I go to get it?
     
  14. Schwin97

    Schwin97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    12
    You should be able to find links to it all over the internet... Search the forums and you will probably find a couple links.

    And I went ahead and rooted my AT&T N1 - Froyo is nice - about to watch some 30 Rock on hulu.com.

    :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...