Soft Root


Last Updated:

  1. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    OK - Used Universal One Click To toy around with the soft root.

    Like the wireless tether....infact....VERY COOL -
    Now on a soft root - if I update to the Zen Uncapped Kernal - for OC purposes. and UNROOT later.......will this brick my phone?

    Do I need to make a Nandroid on a soft root.
    Can I play around with other Roms on a soft root?

    THANKS FOR THE HELP -
    New obvisoulsy this soft root is a great way to play and feel comfortable.
     

    Advertisement
  2. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    as soon as i rooted, nandroid was the first thing i did, simply bc i knew i was gonna start toying with things, as you said, and i didnt know what everything would do. think of it like this...youve spent however long youve had the phone setting up things how you like it (email, text, layout, etc.). in a matter of one click, it can all be gone. A nandroid takes like 5 minutes. its cheap security, and you can delete it just as easily as you saved it if you dont need it.

    I generally have maybe 3 or 4 nadroids saved to my card. Definately hold onto the first one so you can flash back to it to update prl and profile and all that jazz, and i like to hang onto 2 or 3 before the one im currently using, so if i dont like how an update or something works, i can easily get back to my settings before the update.
     
  3. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Thanks chawski.......now....how do i make a nandroid
     
  4. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    haha once you have your rom manager, turn off the phone. At the same time, hold the Volume down toggle and the power button, and continue holding both until a screen pops up. There will be an option that i believe says "restore" (i think it is restore, but whatever is the home button). Hit the home button and it will bring you to a menu, and one of the choices will be "nandroid", which will bring you to a list that says "backup, restore, and possibly one more" Click the "backup" and let it do its thing. Once its done, hit the back button to go back to the main menu, select "reboot phone" and there you have it.

    If you ever need to flash back to that nandroid, or any others you make, do the same steps, only select "restore" instead of "backup" once in the nandroid list.
     
  5. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    What do you recommend.....clockwork Rom
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Does it allow you to name the backup also, incase you have more than one backup??


     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    So Mahalo, I assume you simply rooted, and now you want to backup your rooted stock incase you do not like a custom ROM and want to go back to the rooted stock
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    DonB, you can rename your nandroid backups, but you must not use spaces in the new name....

    For example, Original name is 078bgtresf5531003 (not really what a name looks like, but you get the idea) If you were to rename it, like For a fresh rom, maybe you could call it Fresh_1_10_03_10
     
    DonB likes this.
  9. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Personally, I would not rename any nandroid. Just use the name given, it's usually by date and time;)
     
    DonB likes this.
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    I actually don't rename mine either, but just wanted to help and answer DonB ;)
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Seems like I ran into trouble the first nandroid I renamed, so I stopped renaming, lol:):)
     
  12. Fenga Papit

    Fenga Papit Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    38
    I don't rename my nandroid files completely, but I do append the file name to include the ROM name. Example: BGP20100927 becomes BGP20100927_CM6_10_02_nightly.

    That way I know at a glance exactly which nandroid I want.
     
    DonB likes this.
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Mahalo, did we loose you, you never answered my question !! ;)
     
  14. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    HAHA....Sorry - Wife had a baby girl last week. Have been busy!
    I haven't fully Rooted yet. Just Playing around with the Soft Root.

    You can root and Unroot with just a click - Gives you access to some other apps....ie wireless tether. I haven't started playing with new Roms yet....I think you have to do a full root for that....

    Can i install an uncapped Kernal on a soft root to increase my CPU speed? ? ? ? ?
     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Congrats on the new baby:D:D:D

    I believe the uncapped kernels are for the froyo roms only
     
  16. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Congrats on the baby, as for a soft root, I don't believe it is called a soft root, unless one click Universal Androot calls it that until you flash a custom ROM, I maybe wrong, but a root is a root which allows you SU access, what changes things is flashing a custom ROM which changes the OS of your phone and it's look and feel. So the only difference you have noticed since you have rooted is, tethering, how about dialer lag others complaining about before the latest .7 release, have you also tried to download any apps that only work on root access?? Enjoy your new bundle of life. :cool:

    One more question for you, since you did the one click root, has your phone asked to install the .7 build release since ??

    FYI. I know what you mean by a soft root, Stock with no ROM Customization, no Kernel flashing Etc.... and no clocking Etc.....


     
  17. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    OK - Soft Root one click widget allows a one click root and a one click UnRoot -
    It also unroots on a reboot. -

    Good to know about the Kernals - thanks - BUMMER THOUGH...

    No I have not gotten the upgrade prompt - While rooted or unrooted...
    It is possible that it hasn't made it out to hawaii yet....
     
  18. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    ALSO -

    I was able to root - Boot into Recovery - make a NanDroid - then Unroot - So i have a Back up if my phone takes a dump. Clockwork mod shows the Nan as does recovery boot.
     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    OK got you, so you did not use the one click Universal Androot then, this is something else, or is it the same but offers an option to do a soft root or either an original root


     
  20. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    This is the Universal One Click - When you go to the XDA site the are 3 versions - The Final (beta) version is the soft root. Have used it many times in the past week or so. Works Great.
     
  21. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
  22. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
  23. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Don - Haven't Tried the one Click - But the Unversal works like a charm - and you have the video..... Im just saying....
     
  24. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    DonB, I agree with MahaloCat. Root that shit!!!!! Stop sitting on the fence, and enjoy your phone! You know more about Rooting than I do, and I have had a rooted phone for 6 months!
     
  25. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    LOL I will one day soon

     

Share This Page

Loading...