software version? (not 2.1 question)General


Last Updated:

  1. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    what is the latest software version on this shitty phone.
    I currently am looking at ..
    1.17.605.1

    is there a new update or newer software?
     

    Advertisement
    smacky likes this.
  2. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44

    Seriously?

    If you're running 1.5, go here Personal Communications Devices and download MR2 upgrade....

    or

    Install 2.1v3...

    or root.


    Not exactly Rocket Science or Brain Surgery.
     
  3. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    what is an mr2 upgrade

    and does it fix the issue of the phone not picking up a 2g signal
     
  4. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    Bug fix for 1.5 released in January.

    1.17.605.1 is the latest build for 1.5

    not aware of that issue.

    If I were you, I'd root.
     
  5. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok so i have the most current software. I am on my second eris. I have a big issue with the phone having no single. According to my friend it is constantly doing an IRAT search to find a single and is not working seamlessly between 2g and 3g. My issue is i am in an office where everyone else with verizon has single, infact my env2 had full bars in the same seat i am in right now. SO for 10 hours per day my phone is a really expensive paper weight/clock I cant make calls, receive, and texts take 4 tries minimum to go though.
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Have you checked your actual signal?

    Go to Settings > about phone > Network and look at your Signal Strength and Mobile Network Type while you are at your desk. This should give you an accurate look at your current signal.
     
  7. mc48

    mc48 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    36

    congrats OTD. and good luck.
     
    OfTheDamned likes this.
  8. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    mike, try dialing *228 > send > choose option 2. It updates the PRL (Preferred Roaming List). Might help.
     
  9. coorsbear

    coorsbear Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes there is no singles where I work either. Maybe I should get a new job instead of a new phone lol.
     
    nomarsgirl likes this.
  10. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    :D
     
  11. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK i know iam missing something but I do not see network under about phone ?
     
  12. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    It's the second one from the top between System updates and phone identity.
     
  13. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    I think he's running 1.5. The menus are different.

    Anyone running 1.5 know where to find signal strength? Frisco?
     
  14. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Oops, my bad.
     
  15. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Sorry, my fault. I forget about the changes between 1.5 and 2.1 sometimes.

    It should be under Settings > About Phone > Status
     
  16. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    nice..
    0 dBm and 0 asu
     
  17. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    0!? Is this only at work?
     
  18. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    :eek: There is something REALLY wrong there.
     
  19. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can not say for certain this is the first time I have checked. Never knew about this before
     
  20. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    i got close to the front door where i can pick up sig and it went to -97 and 8
     
  21. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299

    So direct and to the point. Haha. I love it.
     
  22. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    That is a pretty bad signal. If you have coworkers that use Verizon, you may want to look at their phones and see if you can find out what dBm they are at. It will at least help with a warranty claim, if it comes to that.
     
    mike295 likes this.
  23. mike295

    mike295 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah this is the second phone. I already have been given a replacement for the first one I had. (Same issue) Called Verizon and they can either send me a new one .. or i can buy a different phone at the preowned price.
     
  24. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I would try talking to them again and maybe even trying another one. If it comes down to requiring a new phone, you may want to read your contract. Look for anything pertaining to loss of coverage or lack of coverage in a specific area. Not saying it will do anything, but sometimes fine print can be your friend. ;)
     
  25. gotweed

    gotweed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey question? Will the MR2 UPGRADE erase my contacts and apps when installed? If so, what should I use to back up everything?
     

Share This Page

Loading...