• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Solution for screen brightness?

Entayan

Lurker
Oct 28, 2012
Hey all,
I am really new at this, and was wondering if anyone had a solution for getting the screen auto brightness working on the LG Shine Plus? I know that LG killed the driver, but I was wondering if anyone knew of a custom rom or mod that fixes this problem.

Hey all,
I am really new at this, and was wondering if anyone had a solution for getting the screen auto brightness working on the LG Shine Plus? I know that LG killed the driver, but I was wondering if anyone knew of a custom rom or mod that fixes this problem.

Hey,

I actually found a workaround a while back, but never posted it... It's not super "user friendly" either. It involves messing with scripts and such.

I've also enabled the actual checkbox in my custom ROM, although it does nothing... The light sensors don't seem to register anything.

Here's the script I built for myself. What it'll do is auto adjust your brightness according to the light sensor... But you can't play around with it unless you mess with the script itself.

To run the script, unzip it, save the 99autobright.sh on your SD card. You have to get Script Manager from the Play Store, run the script in it and have it run on boot (Checkmark). This solution is a temporary one... The real fix would be to import proximity/light sensor code from another phone (Like the p500h) into our kernel. I don't have enough time to actually do this though. So I don't think it'll happen. ;)

View attachment 99autobright.zip

Reactions: Entayan
Upvote 0
Thanks!
I think that I shall give that a try. Would this temporary fix be dependant on the script manager downloaded? If you uninstall the script manager, will it not run on boot?