Some basic questions on using VibrantSupport


Last Updated:

  1. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK after a few days of having my Vibrant, I find some of the things wonky or difficult to figure out and hence the questions. These maybe silly questions but nevertheless problems I am encountering, so here it goes:

    1) First off, how the hell do I attend an incoming call? For the first day or two, I pressed the answer button only to see no response and then I checked my settings and the Answer options were unchecked so I enabled them and still I am having difficulties. Do I need to unlock the screen before the Answer option is enabled? Because when I get an incoming call and I press 'Answer', nothing happens and I assume the screen is locked so it does nothing.

    2) I downloaded the Alarm plus app and tested the alarm. When the alarm started going off, how do I stop it or kill it without illing every damn app? This was weird as my phone started going off like crazy and here I am trying to kill the damn alarm and press the power button and nothing happens. What do I do to shut off alarm if I set one? It does not bring up the app acreen and give me options to stop it.

    3) How do I remove widgets or widget icons? It gives options to add but how do I remove the shortcut icons? Or move it to another screen?

    Sorry for the dummy questions but I am still figuring out Android and I am so used to doing things on the Iphone so some of these things catch me offguard. Some help / handholding is definitely appreciated.

    Is it normal for the Vibrant to reboot often on its own? It has happened twice already and all I did was press the power button to turn the screen on.
     

    Advertisement
  2. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147

    1. You have to swipe the button rather than press it. I found that out the hard way.

    2. No idea. I've yet to use an alarm.

    3. Long press on the widget then drag it to the bottom of the screen...a trash can will show up...just dump it in there.

    As for the rebooting, I've not had that problem so I can't address it, but I'd be interested to hear what others have to say.

    Sorry I can't be of more help overall, but that's as much as I've learned to date.
     
    PinkFloyd likes this.
  3. aci78

    aci78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    To address the OP 's last question- you are holding the button too long. When you do this, it reboots phone. It's like pushing the power button on your pc; after a few seconds it will reboot automatically.
     
    PinkFloyd likes this.
  4. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I use the stock alarm app and it even tells you to respond you hold down either the snooze or off button.
     
    PinkFloyd likes this.
  5. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks to everyone for responding quickly.

    So, in order to respond to an incoming call, I have to swipe the Answer button instead of just touching it? Do I have to unlock the screen before I do this or it does not matter?

    Which is the stock alarm app? Well if I do use a third party alarm app, there has got to be a way to turn the damn thing off, don't it?

    As for the power button, I may have pressed it too long but the problem was the screen was not turning on when I pressed it like usual. I do admit I pressed it longer to turn the screen on when I did not get a response for a simple press.

    Thanks on how to get rid of the widget part. That really helps.
     
  6. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Swipe to the right

    No.
     
    PinkFloyd likes this.
  7. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Ah...I wondered about that one. Almost mentioned the possibility, but figured I should just shut up.
     
  8. mdtolic

    mdtolic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Too funny. I couldn't figure out how to answer calls at first either. I figured it out on accident; after I swyped out of frustration.
     
  9. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK I am still having problems answering calls. What exactly is the standard operating procedure for answering a call? Somehow swiping the button to the right is not working. Or I am doing something wrong.

    Whoever thought of this idiotic design to answer the phone in Samsung, should be shot. If multiple people are having problems answering a phone call in a mobile phone, you have same major design goof up. That is all I have to say about it.
     
  10. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Uhh go for an exchange. Seriously, Ive never heard of anyone having this much problem answering a phone call with a swipe. I know 4 friends who own Galaxy Vibrant...

    Can you go exchange it? Something must be wrong with your phone.
     
  11. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Yeah id take it back too, however you can go into settings and configure it to answer by touching any button......though it don't work for me. But it might for you.
     
  12. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well maybe I was not doing it right. I'll give it a shot few more times before I take it back. Something must not be right in the way I am swiping.

    TMobile help says to touch the send button and push it to the right to attend phone calls. So maybe I'll give that a shot next few times.
     
  13. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well I finally figured out how to answer a call and it worked. Looks like I have to touch and hold the 'Answer' icon and slide it all the way to the right and I got a hang of what I exactly need to do to answer calls. Thanks everyone.

    I still call lame design by Samsung. But oh well...
     
  14. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    I just remembered this...maybe you'd care to check it out:

    Easy Answer Button - Android app on AppBrain
     
    photomama likes this.
  15. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
  16. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    As Jerome Horwitz used to say, "soitenly!"
     
  17. mahgnillig

    mahgnillig Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sad to say I also had the same problem when trying to figure out how to answer my phone without bluetooth. After a couple of calls ended up going to voicemail because I couldn't answer it fast enough, I finally figured it out :p
     
  18. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK for some reason, that Easy answer is not working on the Vibrant. I enabled it and set the delay to 'No Delay' and yet when I get an incoming call, I don't see anything pop up and it also suppresses my stock answering screen. Anyone else have success with it on a Vibrant? Or is there some tweak I need to do to the app setting?
     
  19. Big-Dog

    Big-Dog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed it on mine and it worked just fine without any tweaks and the default settings. Of course, I only tested it with one call! lol
     
  20. PinkFloyd

    PinkFloyd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    I tested it with one call as well. So what is the delay setting you used? I used No Delay and of course enabled the app.
     
  21. photomama

    photomama New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the Easy Answer as well because the swipe answer is just annoying. I had no issues with it.
     
  22. navi13-13

    navi13-13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    after unlocking ,i'm having some problems with my samsung vibrant.
    )after i switch on the phone it starts media scan and it hangs .this process continues for several times. can anybody help me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...