• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root some help and info plz with my new htc hero unlocked

hi guys first of all a big HELLO.i was wondering if use could help me out am new to all this rooting as i have had the iphone and decided to change to the hero and i must say i love it i have jailbroken many iphones but am not sure bought this wee hero i got it unlocked and on the soft ware 2.1 i done the androot and it worked am just needing some help on how to use custom roms and how to i go abought backing up my own soft ware before i change to a custom rom any help would be great as i am a noob lol thanks and how can i back my phone up in case something goes wrong thanks

i forgot to save it then my phone crashed would not turn on could not get bye the htc boot up then after some messing abought i got the villain rom and it worked and i got my phone on but i cant set up a google account it keeps crashing wen i try can use help me out is there a way i can get back my old software or get the vaillain 12 i should have waited to usde guys got back to me now am stuck

Upvote 0
So you didn't do a nandroid backup? Then there's no way to get your original firmware back. (Well, apart form installing it afresh).

So what do you mean it keeps crashing? The phone it's self keeps crashing or the Setup wizard keeps crashing?

Which firmware did you flash? Could you link me to it?

Upvote 0
Ok:

- Put your new ROM on the root of your sdcard
- Under 'nandroid' do a backup.
- From the main menu pick 'wipe data/factory reset'.
- Under 'advanced' pick 'Wipe Dalvik Cache'
- From the main menu pick 'Wipe cache parition' (Not sure about this one - if it gives you errors then don't worry, just skip it).
- Under 'install zip from sdcard' choose 'choose zip from sdcard'
- Pick the new ROM.zip and flash it
- Reboot

Upvote 0