some help and info plz with my new htc hero unlocked

Last Updated:

1. tazzbaby

tazzbaby Member This Topic's Starter

hi guys first of all a big HELLO.i was wondering if use could help me out am new to all this rooting as i have had the iphone and decided to change to the hero and i must say i love it i have jailbroken many iphones but am not sure bought this wee hero i got it unlocked and on the soft ware 2.1 i done the androot and it worked am just needing some help on how to use custom roms and how to i go abought backing up my own soft ware before i change to a custom rom any help would be great as i am a noob lol thanks and how can i back my phone up in case something goes wrong thanks

Advertisement
  2. tazzbaby

hi guys tried a rom there but all i got wen i hold the home and power button was a htc hero with a red triangle and this ! on it any help plz

3. Slug

Slug Check six! Moderator

You have to flash a custom recovery to the handset. See here for a link to the latest Amon_RA recovery or install ROM Manager from the Market and use it to flash the ClockworkMod version.

4. Xyro

Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

Once you have a recovery menu installed (and my vote has to go to amon ra), you should use it to make a nand backup before you do anything else. Nandroid backups can be used to restore your old firmware if something goes wrong :)

5. tazzbaby

i forgot to save it then my phone crashed would not turn on could not get bye the htc boot up then after some messing abought i got the villain rom and it worked and i got my phone on but i cant set up a google account it keeps crashing wen i try can use help me out is there a way i can get back my old software or get the vaillain 12 i should have waited to usde guys got back to me now am stuck

6. Xyro

So you didn't do a nandroid backup? Then there's no way to get your original firmware back. (Well, apart form installing it afresh).