Some issues with SetCPU


Last Updated:

  1. RunamuckRez

    RunamuckRez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, was hoping I can get some minor help with a SetCPU issue (and overclock widget issue, I tried both).

    Some background, I rooted today using the one touch method, and after reading about the different roms I decided to go with Frisco's advice and install xtrRom. A few minor hiccups in the install process but I'm up and running for the most part (still tracking down all my apps to reinstall to the SD card but thats another topic). I did also install all the optional modules (LWP, stock apps, and htc stuff), and made sure JIT was turned off (I'm a heavy pandora user). The next thing I set out to do was to overclock this thing. I realize that xtrROM doesn't need overclocking, but I wanted to see if I noticed any differences from stock. So I buy and install SetCPU and then run it and I get to the SU Request screen and nothing happens. Any ideas why this might be? Did I screw something up in the flashing process? At the very least I did a Nandroid backup so I can always restore if need be ( and I still might, I really miss the HTC widgets). But I'd like to get this up and running before I decided one way or another.

    thanks for the help.

    Rez
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Likes Received:
    21,976
    I think that su/SuperUser app needs USB debugging enabled (there's other things too, but this is the easiest / most likely).

    To enable USB Debugging: Settings -> Applications -> Development -> USB debugging(checked)

    I think this is one of the things that su/superuser requests need. See if that works...
     
  3. RunamuckRez

    RunamuckRez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    I gave it a go Scary Alien, and no dice. I'm still having to force close out of the SU request screen despite turning on USB debugging. I'm starting to wonder if I did something wrong in the flashing process, or screwed up something when I did AP2SD.
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Likes Received:
    21,976
    Gimme a sec to search...I posted something a while back to someone re. a whole host of causes for this...I just tried the low-hanging-fruit approach first...:D
     
  5. RunamuckRez

    RunamuckRez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a bunch, to be honest, Im about ready to pack it in for the night anyway, been tinkering with the Eris for the better part of 3 hours now. I'll get back to it in the morning. I figure if worse comes to worse I can always rewipe and reflash and leave out LWP for the time being...or just jump straight to froyo.
     
  6. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Likes Received:
    21,976
    Okay, look at this post: http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/127861-universal-eris-root-dummies-6.html#post1264860 (clearing the cache and/or doing an initial su request via the SDK (adb shell) might be the answer).

    I never did hear back from the original poster re. whether any of these worked or not, so if something does, please let me know. Thanks, cheers, and good luck!
     
    RunamuckRez likes this.
  7. RunamuckRez

    RunamuckRez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, that did it. Clearing data cache on SU permissions let me access SetCPU. Guess that can be filled away for other people. Over clocking is def working because LWP seems to be much smoother. Thanks alot Scary Alien, looks like I've got a hell of a day ahead of me finding replacements widgets for xtrROM for my old HTC ones.
     

Share This Page

Loading...