Some 'newbie' questions


Last Updated:

  1. omelet

    omelet Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I just got this fascinate, and it's my favorite phone I've ever had. It's just so bright and a lot better than any other phone out there if you ask me.
    Anyways, since this is my first android phone I have a few questions.

    I got the 15$ (150MB) plan, since I'm mainly going to use the WiFi from my house to download apps and such, and was wondering how do I make sure I'm using the WiFi instead of the 3G? I have the WiFi on but I don't know if I'm using it. Also, if I'm out and don't want it to sync to my contacts, how do I turn 3G off? To make sure it doesn't update my contacts with their facebook status updates. I didn't want them to waste my MB.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Bob-o

    Bob-o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    12
    When using wifi, it will make your 3g symbol on the status bar disappear. I don't know how to disable 3g other than downloading juice defender from the market, adding the data toggle widget to desktop that it comes with, and manually turning it off. Hope that helped

    Bob
     
  3. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    i will say that its gonna be tough to maintain less the 150 mb a month. there are days i use more than that :)
     
  4. bezerk19

    bezerk19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    46
    I don't believe the Fascinate is similar to the HTC type phones where it has a "Mobile" on/off toggle switch. With that being said, I would be very careful when using these types of phones with a small data plan. One thing to keep in mind is that sending picture messages are sent via data plan and not your text plan.

    As someone previously mentioned when your phone switches to WIFI you will no longer see the 3G icon on the address bar, also make sure you change your WIFI sleep policy, by default if your phone goes to sleep (screen off) then it will switch back to 3G. Change policy to "Never fall asleep".

    I think it usually better to get unlimited data, i can usually rack up 3-4 GB of data usage in a month. ( i stream a lot of music :D)
     
  5. bradmatic

    bradmatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    From what I can tell, when you activate the Wi-Fi and have an active connection, it will route all data to Wi-Fi... not 3G.
     
  6. Kaessa

    Kaessa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    222
    I spend most of the day with an active wifi connection available, and it always has me on wifi and not 3g.
     

Share This Page

Loading...