• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root some pointers on running juopunut bear from ubuntu

scotty85

Extreme Android User
Jul 25, 2010
as those that have waited to s off have recently found,the unlimited team has stopped support for windows versions of its tools. while windows versions are floating around,the team WILL NOT support you via IRC or otherwise,if you use them.

having to root a friends phone over the weekend,i decided to use the linux download,as a new rooter just deciding to s off would have to.

first let me state that im not an expert with linux. id with you all here ;) id like to learn more about it,and use it,but for now,im not any better at it than your average windows user. im sure there are lots of folks out there whom are much,much more proficient,and better suited to write a "guide".

this is not really a step by step guide like some that ive written. this is intended to be more of a discussion,so those who are better at it,can help those of us who arent :D

my point is this: if *I* can do it,so can you! despite my activity in various forums here,and windows based guides ive written,i was as confused as anyone when i tried to do this. and now,on to it :)

the first step is to create a live cd of ubuntu 12.04 or higher,per unlimited's instructions.

do that here:
Download Ubuntu Desktop | Ubuntu

its actually been awhile since ive done this,so i dont remember alot of those details. once you have your live cd burnt and booting,fire it up.

familiarize yourself with the tabs along the side,and the stuff in the top bar. youll see firefox web browser is included. you can find the terminal app in the top button"dash home". you may have to go to the second icon along the bottom,and check your "installed apps" to find it.

next,open up firefox browser. navigate to Unlimited.IO

download the appropriate version of controlbear.