Some research questionsGeneral

Last Updated: 2012-09-30 10:57:42
  1. SteveC

SteveC Well-Known Member

I have a Droid Bionic which is having issues, driving me nuts, and has me ready to put the thing on an anvil and grab a big hammer.

I'm looking pretty closely at the RAZR M. This looks like a good phone for price vs features vs abilities. It might be good enough to use until I can stash enough $$$ for a developer version of some phone, or until Motorola regains some sense and lets us have an easily rootable phone.

I like the size factor, mostly because I like to keep the phone in my left front snap down shirt pocket. I have big enough hands that I can use a big phone and a Samsung Galaxy S III is also on my radar, but it is a bit too big for the pocket to snap closed. I also like the water repellent nano coatings of the M. I'm a farmer and my hands are not always clean, and what with irrigating, I'm also around some wet environments (one of the Bionic problem causes). I like the Gorilla glass and the Kevlar idea too.

I had and loved the original Droid, but backed away from Motorola due to their locked bootloader stupidity. I got a Verizon Fascinate that gave way to the Bionic once root became available for Motorola phones.

I have rooted all of my smartphones. I suppose root will come to the RAZR M too. But I am going to need to replace the Bionic pretty quickly because I think it is going to die in my pocket before long.

I guess this is as much of an ICS question as much as anything. Can ads be blocked on a non rooted ICS phone by the OS or not? The ad blocking ability is the single best thing for me about rooted phones. I can live with a stock RAZR M for a few weeks if I can do something about blocking the ads.

I was never happy with the gps signal or the phone signal strength of the Fascinate. Some forum comments on the GS III look to me like there is still some issues there.