Somebody school me on SPLs and radios


Last Updated:

  1. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    So I always see ROMs listing requirement of radios and spls but I can never quite tell which ones apply to me. Can anyone clarify this for me, because I'm pretty f-ing confused.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    BUMP. Anyone??
     
  3. dasudevil

    dasudevil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    45
    wow i responded yesterday and now its gone. Here we go again...

    LOL


    Radio: Its the frequency your phone uses to communicate between the towers. The newest radio version is the best (must be for your model) Helps with more bars and 3g

    SPL: NOT NEEDED FOR MYTOUCHE'S.... Te Spl was designed for G1's which have less memory and storage then the mytouch. That was created so you could load a custom rom.


    If im wrong hope someone jumps in.
     
  4. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is not totally correct. SPL is the secondary program loader aka bootloader, like bios on a PC. It is what bootstraps android. Without it Android won't boot. But, ASFAIK, on the MT3G there is no need to flash a new SPL, so you don't have to worry about it.

    People who flash new SPLs tend to want an engineering SPL so they can use fastboot commands. Or if they have a perfect SPL, the previous rooting methods for 1.6 and higher required flashing a new SPL. But this is no longer the case with universal androot.

    What you are thinking of regarding the G1 is the "Haykuro" or "Danger" or "Death" SPL. There is nothing at all dangerous or deathly about this SPL in the context of the Magic/Sapphire/MT3G.

    It is simply an HTC magic Engineering SPL (1.33.2005) that happens to work on the G1, rewriting the NAND partitioning so that larger ROMs can fit on the G1 by increasing space to /system at the expense of /cache (IIRC). Any Hero-based 1.5 ROM requires it, as do the later versions of CyanogenMod. CM4 did not require it for the G1.

    It becomes dangerous only when in the state of being flashed, or being the subject of consideration with regard to flashing, on a G1. It is incompatible with certain radio versions on the G1 and flashing an incompatible radio with 1.33.2005 on a G1, and only on a G1, WILL brick said G1.

    sources for further reading:
    xda-developers - View Single Post - Magic SPL HBOOT collection
    xda-developers - View Single Post - Booting Recovery Image Freeze
    Magic SPL HBOOT collection - xda-developers
    HTC Sapphire Hacking 2 Continue to HTC Sapphire Hacking - Part 2 - XDA-Developers
     
    Phateless likes this.
  5. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    Wow, thank you very much! That's exactly what I was looking for!

    So there really is NO need to ever change the SPL on a mytouch if all I'm doing is installing custom roms; and any roms big enough that they would require a different spl would run like crap on that phone anyway, making it a moot point.

    Fastboot - fastboot is where sappimg is applied, correct? Or is that the bootloader?

    As for fastboot commands, what are the types of things this is needed for? Not planning to do anything like this, just curious.

    Thanks again!
     
  6. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    While I own the same hardware as you, a PVT32B HTC Sapphire, mine had a perfect spl (until I flashed an engineering spl) but yours did not asfaik. If you don't have a perfect spl, then there is much less of a need to ever change it. Changing the spl of the mt3g will not give you more space - this only applies to the G1.

    While in fastboot, you can use remote commands from you PC when the phone is connected with the USB cable. You have to have everything set up correctly and be using an engineering spl. You can flash new recoveries, do a full and complete wipe of the phone, flash radios and splash screens.

    More information on fastboot is on HTC's site

    HTC - Developer Center
    HTH
     

Share This Page

Loading...