Somehow lost root..


Last Updated:

  1. Jay-qu

    Jay-qu Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have just done the 'one click root' to my desire (here ), and after installing leeDroid's Froyo rom (2.0c) I have lost root access to my phone..

    This means I cant do a Titanium Backup restore to get all my stuff back :(

    Anyone know of a quick fix? or do I have to roll back and start again?

    Cheers, Jay
     

    Advertisement
  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Try the factory reset settings/privacy/factory data reset & also reboot your phone, see if this helps.
     
  3. Jay-qu

    Jay-qu Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    No go... still exactly the same problem. Thanks anyway
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    I cant see how it is possible to lose root access to a custom rom.

    Have you got the "Superuser" icon in the app drawer? Does it list applications in it?
     
  5. Jay-qu

    Jay-qu Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, the superuser icon was there in stock 2.1 but disappeared in the custom 2.2 rom...

    FYI I fully wiped and reinstalled but it made no difference.. Im thinking of trying another rom but I really liked leeRoid's, it gave me navigation in Aus :)
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    That's really odd. Dodgy download perhaps? Although its strange you can still flash.

    Try modaco r8
     
  7. Jay-qu

    Jay-qu Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have settled on another ROM - not sure which it was in the end, but its a modded froyo and I have perfect superuser access now :) also got navigation in Australia with Brut maps (if anyone else is looking for this feature).

    Thanks for the help guys.
     
  8. kilroy

    kilroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    13
    You didn't install the Offiical RUU for 2.2 did you? That would mean you lose root.
     
  9. Jay-qu

    Jay-qu Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the first time that I lost root I had installed LeeRoids 2.0c Froyo ROM. The second time I installed a stock Froyo with the only modification being added root access and busybox.
     
  10. DragosP

    DragosP Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did you tap on to "Problems ?" in Titanium Backup and after that did you downloaded the good BusyBox for it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...