Something I don't understand...


Last Updated:

  1. ciden

    ciden Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    First post didn't take, so I go again:

    Hope someone around here will be so kind as to point me in the right direction. I got a HTC Hero on contract today (Vodacom, South Africa). When I got home, I wanted to update it with the updated WWE firmware located on the HTC UK site (firmware: RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.5_WWE_release_signed_NoDriver).

    When I tried to do the installation, I got the error that there's something wrong with the ID of my phone. So I thought - it must be carrier locked then. I inserted a sim from a different carrier, and it booted up with no problem. No my question is - is the phone locked or not? Why can I not install the firmware?

    The phone did have settings for Vodacom installed - but I don't know if it installs by reading the sim or if it was pre-installed?

    I got an unlocking code - but this is supposed to be entered when u boot the phone with a different carrier's sim - but as I said, I could boot with no problems.

    How do I make it totally free so I can install the new firmware?

    Some details -
    Build no: 2.73.1104.4
    Software version: 1.0.0.A6288
    Model: HTC HERO A6262

    Any help will be greatly appreciated!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Maybe because it's specifcally for HTC Hero's in the UK on UK carriers {i.e Orange HTC Hero} , hence will not work?

    Have you tried contacting HTC in your region to see if they can direct you to the appropiate file or how to upgrade to the Latest firmware :)
     
  3. ciden

    ciden Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Carl,

    What I understood from the update was, that it's for the whole world. There is a UK specific firmware as well.

    HTC is distributed by a company called LEAF - and they have nothing on their site for any firmware updates. They don't even reply to any messages.

    It's like Apple products - we don't really have Apple in South Africa, but the products are distributed by a company called the Core Group.

    I'll try and send them a message again...
     
  4. ciden

    ciden Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I phoned the local HTC distributor (LEAF) this morning. The phones available here are not locked. So if they are open, why can I not install the WWE update?

    Is there something else written in the software? If my phone is not locked, yet still does not install the firmware - what is it then?
     
  5. Nighthaunt

    Nighthaunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like the problem isn't that the phone is locked to a service provider (i.e. only their sim will work) but that you are trying to install an incompatable ROM update onto the phone.

    If your Hero is a South African phone then you would need to put a South African ROM update onto it - not a UK one. You can only use the UK updates with UK models, the US updates with US models etc...

    Its due to differences in languages etc... and local regulations, which is why HTC produce regional variant versions of their software.

    The only way you might be able to update to a UK rom would be to change your phone identification code to a UK version ( for the UK rom ), and I have no idea how you would do this although I did it using NSS for my Nokia N97 to turn it from a UK to Euro generic model to get the latest firmware.

    I would try and email HTC direct to see what they have to say - as your is unlocked there's no manfufacturers branding so its a generic rom i.e the same as every other Hero in South Africa.

    The other option might be to consider a custom rom - although I'm not sure if they are location bound or will install on any location Hero.

    Regards

    Alex
     
  6. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    From what the OP has said, I don't think he is trying to install a UK ROM, he is using the WWE (World Wide Edition).

    I have been to the Worldwide version of the HTC site and there isn't a download, but I assume you must have put in your serial number to get the download in the firstplace?

    I would do what Nighthaunt said and email HTC directly. They should be able to provide you with a solution
     
  7. Nighthaunt

    Nighthaunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the confusion on the WWE - didn't know exactly what it meant (coming from a Nokia where there is no WWE type firmware) ;) Is there a South African or African HTC site you could try and use?

    Regards

    Alex
     
  8. ciden

    ciden Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I entered a different S/N to get the download.

    I got confused between a carrier locked phone and carrier specific firmware.

    I thought you only got locked and unlocked phones.

    Will give the Asia/Africa website a try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...