something samsung should really have


Last Updated:

  1. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    Now i have the new mytouch 4g. I've had to exchange it/swap it out four times before i got a good one. but when i got home and tested one last thing, the calibration, i was in disbelief. It was calibrated terribly. I thought i might have to exchange it again. BUT i did a little searching and found that on the Mytouch4g if you go to settings -> display -> Calibrate g-sensor you can calibrate the accelerometer...omg yes! finally!
    Now i dont know if this is a 2.2 thing or a specific phone maker thing but im so glad to have it

    Why cant samsung put this in to the vibrant for 2.2? I know for a fact my vibrant, now my wifes vibrant, pulls to the left. its so simple and would make any android phone owner so very happy.
     

    Advertisement
  2. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Good point. Any phone that has so many sensors in it should have a calibration app. I mean, how hard would it be? There's no way in Lower South Hades that every phone is going to be perfectly calibrated and remain so through its life.
     
  3. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    107
    What were the other problems you had w/ your other handsets?
     
  4. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    LOL oh man, here goes.

    FIRST phone: had lots of dust under the glass between the screen and glass. no bueno.

    SECOND phone: i didnt even leave the tmobile store on the second one, as the t-mo guy was helping set it up, as he used the power control widget to up the brightness, the screens backlight would flicker and turn off then back on s it was going brighter. He himself said to me ''I dont fee lcomfortable sending you home with this phone" Because both the first phone and their display model did not display this behaviour.

    THIRD phone: ALSO had dust under the glass, a bright white dead/stuck pixel on the screen. I cannot stand dead pixels.

    FOURTH phone: would shut down randomly, would not connect to GPS, and would barely get out of edge signal.

    FIFTH phone: We have a winner! I thought it was going to have to go back because the accelerometer was TERRIBLE but i found the calibration tool and now its all good.

    yay!
     
  5. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    Unofficial 2.2 has a "Horizontal Calibration" setting on the Vibrant

    (That being the leaked version of T-Mo's 2.2)


    It's in Settings -> Display


    It's similar to the ones in the various compass apps out there, but is "system-wide"


    Seems pretty damned accurate, too.

    Sounds exactly like what you're describing.
     
  6. wildblue

    wildblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    16
    The latest version of the GPS Status app has calibration. Menu > Tools.
     
  7. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Yeah...I saw "Horizontal Calibration" just this morning and was wondering what the heck it was. Guess I'll have to check it out at break time.
     
  8. gilgehmesh

    gilgehmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    61
    Wow, that's a lot of issues... doesn't give you a lot of confidence, does it? Hopefully your fifth phone will last you a while.
     
  9. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    So other than going thru 5 phones already, how do you like the MT4G?

    I am intrested in that phone as you know. But i sure dont like the immediate issues you had.
     
  10. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    well the need for speed shift APK doesnt work... on the g2 it worked flawlessly..on the MT4G it doesnt even work. i'll click on it, the screen will just crash to the home page. doesnt even say force close. it crashes all together. back breaker football force closes. there are NO games from gameloft.com Theres only 3 crappy 2d java games. all of the 3d HD games, that even the G2 had, are non existant.

    Other than that, i like it.
     
  11. its_mee74

    its_mee74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys im new to android and i bouhght a samsung galaxy s a month ago....it was working properly until last night when i changed horizontal calibration in settings and just after that the problem began.my auto rotate option is on but i cannot see the screen portrait its only in landscape...can anyone help pkease?
     
  12. its_mee74

    its_mee74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please tell me how to fix it.i tried a factory reset but it didnt help me and please introduce what horizontal calibration exactly is?
     
  13. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    It is a tool to make sure that the phone is showing "True Flat"

    What I mean is, you put it on a known, truely flat, truly level surface, and you run the app. It will make the internal calibration "set" to that flat surface.


    So, if you ran it while holding it in your hand, your calibration will be totally off.

    Lay it flat on a completely level, flat surface, and run it again and hit Calibrate. DO NOT TOUCH THE PHONE AT ALL until you get the message that it's done.


    This should reset it to be accurate.
     
  14. Jason Pedersen

    Jason Pedersen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    10
    this calibration is only in the leaked 2.2 ROM's? Any fixes for non rooted phones that you know of?

    I returned two Vibrants for this issue and spoke to Samsung tier three tech support months ago with a "probably not going to fix it" response. I'm glad it's (kind of) getting some attention finally.
     
  15. its_mee74

    its_mee74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks alot it worked foe me.
     
  16. its_mee74

    its_mee74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Avatar_V328.apk - 4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download my next question is: about avatar hd game when i download and install the game on sgs froyo every thing goes on well but wgen i run the game all of the textures of the game are white colored. Would someone please download the game from the link above and tell me how does it affect on your phone cuz i wanna know if this is an issue of my phone or the game?
     
  17. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27

    It's built into 2.2 by default, so I don't think it's a Samsung thing.


    Many of the third-party "Level" and "Compass" apps include a calibration tool, but I don't know if it's system-wide (I would imagine it is) and persistent with boot (IE: Remains even after shutting the phone off)


    As for the Leaked 2.2s.... To be honest, I wouldn't run Stock 2.1 OR 2.2 after trying some of these. The Vibrant is (as I've said before) and AMAZING phone when set up right.
     
  18. Jason Pedersen

    Jason Pedersen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    10
    the calibrations only work with the app they are associated with and some important ones (Google SkyMap, My Tracks) don't have them at all. I spent a good deal of time on this issue when I first got the phone as I used to use both apps fairly extensively. I must admit a pretty severe distaste with Samsungs support of this phone since I've been pleased with other electronics.

    Here's a thread from a long while back about this very issue: http://androidforums.com/vibrant-support-troubleshooting/163986-accelerometer.html

    I agree about the power though, and I plan on utilizing it shortly. I just had to get over the fear of messing something up. Probably going with Eugenes new one. Okay, done hijacking the thread. :)
     
  19. its_mee74

    its_mee74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys i have heared about rooting samsung galaxy s. What is it please explain? Why some people root theis SGS? And can u tell me how to root sgs?
     

Share This Page

Loading...