Soon, you will be able to bring Sprint phones on Virgin Mobile


Last Updated:

  1. thebryceee

    thebryceee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    233

    Advertisement
  2. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    I just wonder how old lol
     
  3. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Is a sprint galaxy s3 old lol. Because a gs3 on virgin would be epic and I might not leave them for something else. Was thinking metro pcs for s3 or tmobile prepaid 4g for s3 or note 2.
     
  4. keisukehonda

    keisukehonda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yep I wonder what the "certain specifications" are that the phone must meet before it can be brought over to Virgin Mobile. I really hope that high end devices like the GSIII, LTEVO, and Optimus G can qualify.
     
  5. Spiify

    Spiify Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,760
    Likes Received:
    3,717
    Clean esn and don't owe sprint a penny I'm sure are definite requirements lol
     
  7. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    7,916
    Likes Received:
    5,482
    Sure it is. In the US anyway.

    It's mentioned specifically by name in the article as one of the networks it will be affecting as well.

    Yeah, I would assume so.

    Probably devices at least six months to a year old would be my guess on top of that.
     
  8. mogelijk

    mogelijk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    642
    Actually, the article only mentions Virgin Mobile as a Sprint MVNO. While Spint will allow their old phones to be used, Virgin also needs to allow it and, to this point, they haven't.

    If Virgin does end up allowing it, I expect that they will require Sprint phones to be about a year old before being allowed on the network.
     
  9. Spiify

    Spiify Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Virgin Mobile is owned by Sprint, years ago this was not the case. Even after Sprint acquired Virgin Mobile they are are referred to as a MVNO in articles, but I do not know why.
     
  10. thebryceee

    thebryceee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    233
    They're still considered a MNVO because they're still separate from Sprint, even though Sprint owns it.
     
  11. Spiify

    Spiify Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt Sprint considers them a MNVO but I could be wrong. Either way they were referenced in the article but at the moment Virgin Mobile does not offer BYOD and made no hint they are going to anytime in the near future.
     
  12. SenorDonGato

    SenorDonGato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. SenorDonGato

    SenorDonGato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Received a response from Virgin Mobile:

    What do you think?
     
  14. thebryceee

    thebryceee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    233
    They just weren't informed by Sprint yet
     
  15. Spiify

    Spiify Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    They were not informed by Sprint? Sprint owns Virgin Mobile, I would have to assume they would be informed as soon if not before Sprint MVNOs if they were included.
     
  16. thebryceee

    thebryceee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    233
    Maybe they were told not to say anything yet. Maybe they haven't finalized specifications of this program. Who knows. It's all speculation at this point. I should have said "maybe they weren't informed" instead of saying it like it was a fact. It's purely speculation.
     
  17. Spiify

    Spiify Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's speculation if they are even included in the program. Just because the article included Virgin Mobile as a reference as a Sprint MVNO for some reason does not mean they are included in the program.
     
  18. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    7,916
    Likes Received:
    5,482
    It also doesn't mean that they are not included.

    Speculation is fine either way until something definitive is out. :)
     
    thebryceee likes this.
  19. keisukehonda

    keisukehonda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    19
  20. Kahroo

    Kahroo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    53
    My question is how would they allow other CDMA devices on their network? It's not as simple as a SIM card swap.
     
  21. Austrie

    Austrie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    898
    If you look at the three listed phone, you will see that they are all 4G LTE. Sprint would see more profit giving LTE to their bigger prepaid boost and virgin mobile, maybe voyager too.
     
  22. MacFett

    MacFett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    740
    As long as the device supports their bands AFAIK they just have to allow the device to communicate on their network, like MAC filtering on your home WiFi.
     
  23. kcladygemini

    kcladygemini Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I work for sprint, but have used VM service for years. I recently got a "new-to-me" Epic 4g and wanted to flash it over to VM. 3 different ppl i spoke with at virgin mobile when trying to activate the device told me that they no longer accept flashed phones to activate. Sooooo, now i'm confused about being to bring my sprint phone over to virgin mobile?!?!?!?!
     
  24. mogelijk

    mogelijk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    642
    Virgin does not allow non-Virgin phones on their network. While some people try to "trick" the system by swapping the phone's ESN with a Virgin phone, this is against Virgin TOS and possibly illegal.
     
  25. MacFett

    MacFett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    740
    The while point of this thread is that they are changing this policy...
     

Share This Page

Loading...