Sooo...I have an idea. And need help.


Last Updated:

  1. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    So at 17 (almost 18), taking Java for two years to program for Android, ive accepted that I just can't get a smart phone. Sad. Im on VZW and have a enV touch, its driving me up a wall. (I also made it go swimming with me..so thats prob. why ). So to cut things short, is it possible to take a Micro Sim card from AT&T put it in a adapter and put it in saay, a nexus one or captivate? What id do is take the no-contract pre-paid data plan of the iPad 3G, most likely the 200MB/month for $15 and use Google Voice and other various VoIP clients to use as phone and GV for texts..I pretty much have WiFi where ever I go and pretty decent AT&T 3G in my area. Yes I know, it's just not that simple. Id have to change the APN on the device to att's broadband. Tweak a heck out the phone, but..
    1.) Is it possible? Ive seen it done for a data only iPhone
    2.) It is legal right?
    Pleaseee answer.
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    I'm pretty sure the nexus one doesnt have a sim slot.
     
  3. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    The Nexus One is a GSM phone and the SIM slot is below the battery. You just have to remove the battery to take it out.

    OP, it is possible to do what you're thinking. I think there's an app called APN Droid which will let you change the APN. I'm not quite sure if it will happen, but theoretically AT&T could see from your phone's IMEI that it's not an iPad and therefore automatically change your plan to a "compatible data plan". Not sure if the likelihood is high or not.
     
  4. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sooo i was doing some research on the IMEI and it's illegal to change haha. But how do people do it with the iPhone? wouldnt the IMEI on the iPhone be different than it would on the iPad?
     
  5. hood420

    hood420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    21
  6. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...