sorry to sound repetitive, but I need some rooting help


Last Updated:

  1. Dbry12

    Dbry12 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone. Great forum BTW. I just rooted my phone yesterday using the one click root. Now, I've searched all over and can't find the answers to some basic questions. I want to get froyo2.2 on my phone, my question is which is the best way of doing this. I've read that this is already overclocked so I shouldn't have to worry about doing that. Once I download this program on my computer, I transfer to SD card, open on my phone, and install it. I know to boot with volume up while pressing power button and it should be in there. I know this process has been gone over many times on here but it concerns me about doing this that I may lose my connection, more importantly so because I use my phone to access the internet. So if something goes wrong I cannot get on here and ask questions. So again sorry to bring this topic back again but any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. es0tericcha0s

    es0tericcha0s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    49
    Download rom of your choice to computer.
    Mount phone/SD card to said computer.
    Drag/Drop rom zip to the root of your SD card (read: NOT in a folder)
    Turn off phone and reboot by holding Volume ^ + Power.
    Go to Backup/Restore and create a Nandroid back up of current rom.
    Go back to main screen and go to Wipe.
    Wipe both the first and 2nd options: Factory data + Dalvik Cache
    Go back to main screen and choose Flash zip from SD card.
    Pick rom to install.
    Reboot. (This will take a bit, and the first few minutes will be slow. The phone has a lot of stuff to sync.)


    Enjoy.
     
    doogald likes this.
  3. Dbry12

    Dbry12 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i'm downloading the newest kaosfroyo right now so i'll be doing this in a couple minutes. One other question i had is what happens to the purchased apps i have. Will they disappear or will they still be in the market place. thanks.

    Edit: I thought I would get back on here now with 2.2 on my eris. Thanks for the help. This process was a lot easier than I expected.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Congrats. I think as you discovered, not only will your purchased apps be back in the market, but your free apps will be there the first time that you go in, too.
     
  5. Dbry12

    Dbry12 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I laughed when I realized the app that I was concerned about being there was easy tether. But the wireless tether just took it's place. And I have already begun the new process of buying new apps and getting this thing back to how it was, but better.
     
  6. es0tericcha0s

    es0tericcha0s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    49
    Sweet. I'm glad you got everything working. I try to make my help as easy to understand and complete as possible. :) If you need any more help, just holla.
     

Share This Page

Loading...