Sound is not coming out of my tv....(TV hooked up to Computer)


Last Updated:

  1. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hey Guys. So I recently(today) got a new computer, and I got a TV to act as my monitor. Well I got everything set up correctly except for the Audio. I have an HDMI cable set up so the picture is coming through but there is no sound coming through from my PC to my TV. When I plug in my headphones into the jacks, I can hear sound fine. I have tried everything I could think of my the PC end and the TV end.

    Its Windows 7 as well.
    Much appreciated if you can help!

    Thanks guys!
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Have you connected the audio cable from the video card for HDMI audio to be routed out of the sounds card into the video card?
     
  3. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    um..???

    Could you explain what you mean?
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I should backtrack - do you have a decent video card in the system or are you using onboard video that came with your computer?

    If you have a video card (like, say, a GTX260) then it has a post on top of the video card where you connect an audio cable from your audio board / motherboard audio to the video card so the sound can be re-routed through the HDMI port on the video card.

    If you are using an onboard video card with onboard HDMI, then check your motherboard to see if something similar is required.
     
  5. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well its a ATI Radeon HD 5770. The computer was pre-built, so should I go in there and check?
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
  7. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    I read it, none of it really seemed to apply. Im going to go in tomorrow and get a better cable and see if that works. The cable I am using is a DVI to HDMI....does that mean anything? Also, should I look inside the system to see about that thing for the motherboard?
     
  8. jcheney10

    jcheney10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    So the connector on your computer is dvi? And you are converting that to hdmi, if so dvi does not support audio at all you need a dedicated hdmi port and the audio routed to the port. If you have a surround sound system you can hook the audio to it. My hdtv has a dvi and vga port the tv lets me choose another pport on the tv for audio when I hook my computer up to it.
     
  9. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yep, I figured it out, bought the wrong one :D

    Can I still keep the HDMI I have and just get a audio jack?

    Also It says my ATI HDMI Output is unplugged..so yeah Ill go up to BB and get a cable.
     
  10. hiteck

    hiteck Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your may have problem with your speaker plug cable. You can check it with any multi meter. I hope it will help you.
     
  11. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    huh?
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    He specifically said he's using HDMI - which integrates audio and video channels into a single cable. Which is why he said

    Because his issue was that he was using a DVI to HDMI, and DVI does not carry audio signals - so he was not getting any audio. So, checking the audio pins in the HDMI cable are definitely going to report that there is no signal. So, in this case, the symptom (no signal on audio lines) is not necessarily the result of the cause as you suggest (cable is bad).

    He know the issue, and knows the solution. let's let him get the right cable and see if it works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...