Speach Recognition?


Last Updated:

  1. CSTblank

    CSTblank Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the update to 2.0.1 I've noticed that the Google search widget's voice feature isn't working the same.

    Before the update, you used to be able to press the microphone and say "call Jimmy" and it would act as voice dial and connect you. Or you could press the microphone and say "search Phandroid", or simply just say "Phandroid" for it to do a Google web search. The phone's ability to understand what you were saying, and differentiate from search and call pressing the same button really showed off the phone's 'smarts' when showing it off to people.

    The fact that it no longer does it after 2.0.1 seems to have dumbed it down a little bit IMO, not to mention the lowering of the widget (from nearly flush mount at the top, to lowered down about 1/4 inch [not as aesthetically pleasing]). It doesnt even auto connect anymore after you command it to "Call Jimmy"

    Anyone else notice this?

    So much for "Speech Recognition. Droid Does." :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. ericditt

    ericditt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am still able to do both of the different voice commands from both the search widget and by pressing the search icon on the bottom of the phone.
     
  3. CSTblank

    CSTblank Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    That really bumms me out. :(

    Whether I use the widget or the button on the bottom, it does not do both for me anymore.

    If I say call Jimmy, it does a Google search for "Call Jimmy", or whatever's close to that.

    I have to use the voice dialer (separate app) and it doesnt even auto connect. Just pulls up the contact.

    Why is my phone different? grrr
     
  4. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Check you search settings, there might be something in there to help. I hear where you're coming from. The droid should really have Eris level voice commands. It's disapointing that 2.0 doesn't have this.
     
  5. CSTblank

    CSTblank Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have an Eris, and I preferred DROID's voice commands to Eris', PRIOR to the 2.0.1 update. Now they both seem to be right on par with each other, and that is something I do NOT like.
     
  6. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    I meant ability to control the music apps etc
     
  7. CSTblank

    CSTblank Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, I gotya.

    sorry

    I'm still hung up on the update to 2.0.1 downgrading my droid :(

    Can I go back to 2.0 till 2.1 gets released?
     

Share This Page

Loading...