Spectrum Refarming Has StartedGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    --The spectrum refarming has started, gradually most markets will go up as more people move to VoLTE, Metro has said that most markets will go to 10mhz by the end f the year which is the amount Verizon & AT&T use at this moment.
    --(11/6/12) http://db.tt/BbMw4zlj (9/23/12) http://db.tt/1o0BbCZu
    --Down here in Palm Beach we use to be on 3mhz of spectrum & the average speed was about 2-3mbps now we're on 5mhz & the average now is 6mbps so far during speedtest I peaked @7.2mbps then it went down to 6.3mbps
    Everything except the top 3 are when it was 3mhz http://db.tt/Rm2b6I8G http://db.tt/5VdQFoQm
    --There have been 2 (confirmed) phones so far that support VoLTE & there will be more phones added on VoLTE after they send out the software updates

    To check: If you already know your service code skip to step 3
    1. Go to android - whiterabbit.org
    2. Enter your IMEI where it says MEID/ESN then hit calculate write down the six digit MSL code
    3. In the dialer enter ##626* then when the service code box pops up put the 6 digit MSL code in
    4. Go to field tests & then click screen & the channel bandwidth is at the bottom.
    Sidenote: if you go down to network select then network mode you get to select these http://db.tt/JKl7ZLEQ
     

    Advertisement
  2. Runner1505

    Runner1505 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    That would be sick! I hope they work on broward next
     
  3. Diego1593

    Diego1593 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    46
    I just check i am conforming the upgraded or added more spectrum over here in Dallas in Pleaseant Grove i got 5 to and my speeds almost hit 7mbs
     
  4. Matthew83

    Matthew83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    53
    I live in Orange County California and it shows I still have 3mhz where I live and I only get 1.5 to 3 Mbps at home. In certain cities nearby though I have hit 4Mbps. Can't wait for future network upgrades. :D
     
  5. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    My 4G was gone for about an hour earlier today so when it came back i took a speed test. During the speed test I started to peak @10Mbps then it averaged out at 9mbps but I ain't complaining because yesterday morning I would get about 2-3mbps then last night it went up to 6-7mbps now it averages 9mbps so I am extremely happy with my Unlimited 4G for $50 a month where I get basically the same speeds as people who pay over $80 a month http://db.tt/NOKpqlvb
     
  6. THE W

    THE W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    242
    i was getting 5-6mbps before. now im getting 3-4mbps.

    its good to see that some are seeing an increase. it'll take some time to get to everyone.
     
  7. Ubercharrge

    Ubercharrge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    105
    I have a 5mhz spectrum but i'm getting crappy speeds. Why?
     
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Do you live in a very densely populated area?
     
  9. MyUsernameRox

    MyUsernameRox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    30
    I went to field tests and saw nothing about channel bandwidth. After clicking field tests, there are 5-6 options to choose from, none of them say channel bandwidth either.
     
  10. Matthew83

    Matthew83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    53
    It is actually in field tests then screen. Once you are in the "screen" menu scroll all the way to the bottom to find the bandwidth. I had a difficult time figuring that out too. I just kept picking random things until I found it.
     
  11. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Thanks i didnt even see that i missed something on the instructions i'll go edit it
     
  12. MyUsernameRox

    MyUsernameRox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thanks. Looks like 3MHz here in SoCal.
     
  13. dubtee

    dubtee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    24
  14. Sterlin22

    Sterlin22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    EDIT: Holy crap I figured it out!
     
  15. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid Guide

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8,835
    Likes Received:
    2,487
    @OP, it's spelled reforming.....not refarming :rolleyes:
     
  16. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
  17. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Dallas should be on 15mhz by summer 2013 this should be the same layout for most markets http://db.tt/KQc2uWtd
    If you can't see each box is 5mhz
     
  18. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    I'm pretty sure this is a hint they're going to be moving to LTE-Advanced because the most spectrum LTE can use is 20mhz and they're talking about 40-60mhz of spectrum for LTE http://db.tt/hbn9JCYg & in 2015 they start using 25mhz in Dallas http://db.tt/KQc2uWtd. My speeds doubled from 3mhz to 5mhz so imagine 50mhz with LTE Advanced
     
  19. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    273
  20. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Tmobile is reframing there HSPA network so that the majority of the spectrum with more capacity will be used for LTE so yea HSPA is moving to a spectrum with less amount & after the merger HSPA will get the spectrum band with the least amount so LTE gets all the spectrumy goodness
     
  21. johnnyolivares

    johnnyolivares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    96
    +1
    Can't wait for more spectrum here:D
     
  22. trigger1074

    trigger1074 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    51

    "HSPA+ allows the spectrum to be used for 4G speeds as fast as 42Mbps"

    If Im reading it right then that should help Metro and Tmo customers with 4G phones. HSPA+ is to 42 mb, 4GLTE is to 100mb, but no one will ever hit that speed. So anyone on 4G phones could max at 42mb (although like I said..no one will get near that)
     
  23. enigmadroid

    enigmadroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    83
    Hopefully this means we can use the nexus here soon :)
     
  24. Diego1593

    Diego1593 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    46
    My speeds have upgraded again!! wow!!! using the LG motion with 3032 prl
     

    Attached Files:

  25. cubone

    cubone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    29
    Averaging 3~4 mb/s in Garland, TX more specifically 75041.
    Not Bad, never tought i see these kinds of speeds with metro :D
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...