Speed dialer IssuesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. techdad

    techdad New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated today to 2.1 and can't add any speed dial contacts for speed dial numbers 2 thru 9, #1 of course is voice mail. Suggestions?:(
     

    Advertisement
  2. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    On the dialer screen: Menu>speed dial>menu>add does not work for you?
     
  3. coralroads

    coralroads New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the upgrade Speed Dial does not work on my Eris at all. It seems to cooperate through the Save button and all but then no contacts appear beyond position 1.
    :confused:
     
  4. Lovebug6737

    Lovebug6737 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the exact same problem. Have tried setting speed dials from selecting the contact>Menu>Set Speed Dial and from Phone>menu>speed dial and it acts normal up until save and when you go to use the speed dial, didn't save the setting. Going back into the speed dial section, shows only 1 as having a number tied to it.

    I have tried searching for a few days now for a solution and can't find anything.
    Any help would be greatly appreicated!
     
  5. vertig0730

    vertig0730 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    10
    I just got it to work on leak 2.1 v3
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
  7. techdad

    techdad New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The save button closes to suggest the contact was saved, but nothing is saved. I even powered off and restarted ....nothing is saved. This feature seems to be disabled as of the update .
     
  8. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
  9. tr11

    tr11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was having the same issue. Did a factory reset last night and now it's working beautifully and saving all speed dials. Phone is also running smoother after reset. Some things were freezing or bugging out just a little bit after the update. Will be resetting the wife's phone tonight. Just back up all your apps and contacts and you'll be good. It's like a brand new, snappier phone.
     
    techdad likes this.
  10. techdad

    techdad New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will be trying this tonight after work, thank you all!
     
  11. tr11

    tr11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Techdad,
    At the end of the reset it will prompt you to activate your phone. Just follow the instructions and it will only take a few minutes. But the phone will run a lot smoother when you're done.
     
  12. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
  13. coralroads

    coralroads New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have purchased MyBackup Pro. I will try to backup everything and reset to Factory spect. I assume the bakcup app will keep all my apps and settings, and I can restore them with relative ease? I am updating all of my apps right now. I hope this isn't more lost time. It's all been extremely time consuming---
     
  14. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172

    You may want to make sure your contacts are "Google" type contacts as well.
     
  15. Titan

    Titan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    What about email and factory reset? I use comcast not gmail so will I have to set it up again?
     
  16. coralroads

    coralroads New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Factory Reset corrected all the little bugs that the upgrade to 2.1 caused on my Eris, such as Speed Dial and Weather Gadget problems. Backing up and restoring was somewhat time consuming, though. (Thanks for the backup advice! MyBackup Pro is a very nice app.) Unfortunately, my first Factory Reset action failed to restore 3G when it came back up, causing some headaches. I was relieved to find that the Verizon tech support person was very good at troubleshooting. Once the device was restored, I spent the rest of the evening re-doing settings and --since I some email in folders disappeared--learning the difference between the HTC Mail app behavior (POP) and the GMail app behavior. :)
     
  17. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Glad to hear it.
     
  18. Zzyzx

    Zzyzx New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    4
    Got this from another forum:

    Clearing application data for the following two fixed this problem WITHOUT factory reset (note you lose contacts and call history).

    Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Dialer
    Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Contacts Storage
     
    techdad, Strutzone18 and JimmyRayBob like this.
  19. JimmyRayBob

    JimmyRayBob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    52
    Have you TRIED this yourself? Or, what forum did you read this on?

    Thanks.
     
  20. LuvArabians

    LuvArabians Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doing a factory reset solved my speed dial problems, too.
     
  21. JimmyRayBob

    JimmyRayBob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    52
    Yeah - i could do a factory reset, but i'm trying to avoid setting up all the customization again. I wish i could save the HTC Scene somewhere, and then re-install that ....
     
  22. LuvArabians

    LuvArabians Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use My Backup Pro and you can backup System Settings and Android Home. That kept my screens the same. Not sure if that's what you're looking for?
     
  23. JimmyRayBob

    JimmyRayBob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    52
    I've got My Backup Pro ...

    but i use the HTC Sense, not Android Home. That's the stuff i want to keep ...

    Also, when i did the OTA upgrade, i lost some info in my Contacts (the addresses, not the phone numbers). I don't use google contacts, they are
    "phone" contacts, which i sync with my MS Outlook using HTC Sync.

    Thankfully i had a backup of my OUtlook file, because when i synced the phone to the outlook the first time after the upgrade, the syncing recognized that the addresses had been "updated", and thus removed the addresses from Outlook.
     
  24. Katee

    Katee Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did this today, as my speed dials were gone. This worked for me! Don't factory reset, try this first, you'll just need to resync your contacts and then do the speed dials. YAY! Thanks to Zzyzx for finding this on another forum. Saves time from having to do a factory reset.
     
    JimmyRayBob likes this.
  25. JimmyRayBob

    JimmyRayBob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    52
    Katee -

    Thank you VERY MUCH for trying this. I was a big chicken and wanted someone else to try it first. It worked perfectly!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...