1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

SportsTap Notifications?


Last Updated:

  1. VolsMcFalls

    VolsMcFalls Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do I have to have SportsTap Widget running on one of my homescreens in order to get notification updates from the app itself?
     

    Advertisement
  2. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    I think so.

    Would be interested in seeing if others can confirm.

    Also, not to hijack this, but I find it annoying as anything when I get notifications and the score hasn't changed. I assume that happens to everyone?
     
  3. mhrc4

    mhrc4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    no, you dont need the widget to get the updates, the app just has to be running in the background.
     
  4. Garrett67

    Garrett67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    5
    It works without a widget. Just go into prefs and setup which updates you wish to receive
     
  5. VolsMcFalls

    VolsMcFalls Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    But, it does have to be running in the background, correct? Because the only time I receive them are when I have the app running in the background or have the widget activated.

    So, next question...where is the notification sound file located? I would like to replace it with a crowd cheering sound rather than the default "ba-dum"
     
  6. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Maybe that's why I didn't get updates.

    So with no widget, we should open sportstap, then hit the home button and leave it running.

    Couldn't android shut it down on it's own that way though?
     
  7. SukDeezNutz

    SukDeezNutz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    16
    i rarely open it up and everyday i get the updates for the Phillies game, never had a problem.
     
  8. VolsMcFalls

    VolsMcFalls Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    Really? That's weird. Because I NEVER get them unless I have the app open or the widget on a screen.
     
  9. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    317
    When I delete the widget I get NO updates.
     
  10. jayhawkfan18

    jayhawkfan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has the app been updated to work with froyo? I liked the notifications and no other sports app seems to have them...
     
  11. VolsMcFalls

    VolsMcFalls Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have Froyo and have never had a problem with it. Yours not working on Froyo?
     
  12. jayhawkfan18

    jayhawkfan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Right after I updated it wouldn't even open.. so I deleted it. What device do you have?
     
  13. VolsMcFalls

    VolsMcFalls Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    Weird. I'm on the HTC Droid Incredible.
     
  14. jayhawkfan18

    jayhawkfan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    I re-installed it, I'm not sure if there was an update recently or if I just needed to delete and re-add it after I updated to froyo but it seems to be working now. Thanks for the info I would have forgotten all about it!
     
  15. Mpaige

    Mpaige Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes U do need the widget on the screen to get the notification updates.
     
  16. mcatdtDROID

    mcatdtDROID Banned

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    25
    well, so far I've seen Yes you do and No you don't on here.....

    I set mine up for FSU football after the game last weekend..... I shall see tomorrow I guess.

    I also have Livescore app that gives updates that I'm testing out tomorrow. ESPN is also setup.

    Can't wait for tomorrow with FSU and to see if the apps work
     

Share This Page

Loading...