• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root SPRecovery ?'s

madmike20

Lurker
Aug 1, 2010
right off the bat i apologize if there is already a tread about this somewnere. just signed up today although ive been reading these forums for the last month, while working up the courage to root.

1. when you buy a droid and hold x while powering up does anything special happen? i ask this because i "think" i flashed the sprecovery.i was at 2.1 but the flash said it failed even tho im now at 2.0.1 and get the menu when powering up while holding x.

2. when i try to install the update.zip listed to root my phone, i get an error about signature verification. any ideas?

f.y.i. im not very technical, although this doesnt seem very hard. but id like to learn. if anyone would be willing to correspond back and forth and maybe help walk me through this id appreciate it. ive read the all things rooted guide and honestly, ive still got alot of questions that it doesnt answer. thanks in advance.

I was like a few people here, and was hesitant to root my phone, and didn't decide to do it until after the 2.1 OTA.

Thankfully, it's not only possible, but it's fairly simple. I used Droid-Life's guide, which comes with videos to accompany the instructions, to easily root the phone.

It can be found here: How to: Root Android 2.1 and Install Android 2.2 on Motorola DROID | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

However, you use the .sbf file to actually flash back to 2.0.1 from 2.1, then flash a custom ROM with the newly installed SPRecovery.

So, I guess it needs to be asked, what does it say in the "about phone" under settings as far as to what you're running. If you're on 2.0.1 stock, I'm not familiar with the process; but if you want to update OTA to 2.1 (which I would do soon before 2.2 OTA if you want to ensure you have SU), the process is really simple.

Reactions: madmike20
Upvote 0