Sprint: Android 2.1 coming to Moment first half of next yearSupport


Last Updated:

  1. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sprint couldn't very well rest on its laurels and let the world go by while its Android babies grow stale on version 1.5, could it? Indeed, the company has announced today (via Twitter, of all things) that it'll be bringing Android 2.0 to the table for its HTC Hero and Samsung Moment in the first half of 2010.

    Engadget
     

    Advertisement
  2. Gremlyn1

    Gremlyn1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    32
    was sprint getting tired of people calling / chatting / emailing asking if/when we are getting an update? i think they got tired of it and thought "we're going to do it anyway, lets just give them something to shut them up". i mean they gave us a 6 month window. if we continue to call and ask and complain we may get a more narrowed down window or even get the update out sooner. so i say call and ask if it will be OTA or an update by computer.
     
  5. numus

    numus Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    32
    Well that announcement is worthless.. Why not announce that a friggen patch will be done sometime this month to fix the battery issues and agps issue? Who cares about 2.0 in the next 6 months vs fixing the damn problems that plague us now.. If they said 1.6 would be out this month and 2.0 sometime in the damn future i would be happier then them just saying 2.0 sometime in the next 6 months
     
  6. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Agreed and Agreed.
    This sort of time frame release is NO DIFFERENT from what it was previously! First we heard that it was going to be "first half of 2010", then it was "some time in Q1/Q2 of 2010" and now officially "in the next 6 months."

    This is getting under my skin. As far as I am concerned, I don't care so much about when 2.0 hits as long as we get the fix for the big issues in the next 30 days.:mad: And waiting 6 months is absurd, unless of course Samsung has only dedicated 3 guys to the update... which it then would be understandable, but still absurd.
     
  7. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    I beg to differ.

    The battery issue imho is a non-issue. So what if the battery meter is wrong? I'm still able to use the phone for a full day on 15% battery indicator. Doesn't change how I use it at all.

    The aGPS fix may or may not be something that will drastically change the functionality. I have a couple of TT and Garmin Nuvi units that sometimes take just as long to lock on to a signal.

    All in all I'm very very pleased to hear of the 2.0 update. The urgency in fixing some of these other minor issues I think are overblown.
     
  8. PiggyGirl

    PiggyGirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm glad to hear it's coming too, and I hope it comes sooner than later. I'm overall incredibly impressed with the Moment and the meter being off doesn't bother me. Some might consider exchanging a faulty phone because my GPS has been fine. I use it regularly. The only problem I've had is with the maps not being current (there has been a lot of construction/development in my area).
     
  9. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    The GPS thing is def an issue for me. And by issue, I mean it doesn't work 90% of the time (trying all of the recommended methods).
    I saw today that I actually left the Google track my location thing on-- it sent me an email with a link. Look how much I've traveled in 2 weeks!
    But really, I haven't left soCal.
    I liked Fiji the most.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  11. ABH

    ABH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, that seals it. I may pick mine up this weekend. Thank you Sprint :)
     
  12. the_dingman

    the_dingman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm not normally a conspiracy theorist, but I've got one this time...

    The moment is running stock 'Google Experience' Android, meaning that unlike Motorola and HTC, they don't have to port their proprietary skin over to newer versions. You'll notice however, that Samsung and Sprint are waiting to update it, when it should be very simple.

    I've noticed that while the Moment is clearly a better phone than the Hero, Sprint is all about the Hero, giving the impression that HTC is paying them to push it and ignore the Moment.

    It seems to me like Sprint has made a decision to not let the Moment outshine the Hero with better software, even though the Moment doesn't suffer the pain of having to have custom software ported...

    Also, Samsung needs to issue a fix for the current problems and fast. As someone who sells a lot of these phones (and is also an owner), I'm seeing a lot of returns, complaints and decisions to buy other phones due to the issues.
     
  13. numus

    numus Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    32
    Those of you saying you have working GPS, you obviously do not know what the Agps issue is... It isn't a problem of locking onto the satalites.. it is a problem with using the assisted system for when you do not have line of sign (aka you are in a building)... Cupcake (1.5 or whatever you want to call it) can not utilize the simple concept of cell triangulation and proximity to cell tower (cell towers have static GPS coordinates.. when your phone is using that tower it gets those GPS coordinates and then usually does a radius of 30 meters or so and is able to estimate your general area.. this comes into play with stuff like geolocation weather)... HTC fixed this issue with 1.5 so the hero doesn't really suffer this problem but the moment has it BAD (this is the network option above GPS in the settings)... This is a simple thing that should have been fixed by release (no other phone i have had has had this problem)... Usually my phone thinks i am in Waterloo, UK or Sudan (when i am really in Tallahassee, FL)...
    The battery issue isn't really major, but it is highly annoying and a nuisance and should be a priority to fix...
    I have talked to tech support and they confirmed samsung hasen't given any monetary support to promote the device like HTC has for the HERO (thus there is no advertisements for the Moment)... Telling us to wait out 6 months for a software update is absured (when HTC has already had 2 patches released to fix problems)...
    They are claiming the reason they wont release 2.0 for the moment is because they don't want to create hostility with the Hero users if they have to wait while the moment gets the update (and visa versa).. thus they are waiting until the senseui is ported and then release them at the same time...
     
  14. PiggyGirl

    PiggyGirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't care about specific terms or technicalities. All I know is my Sprint Nav shows a little car that is exactly where I am in reality, and when the roads aren't up to date, I can see that little car go straight into a field right before it says, "re-routing."
     
  15. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. numus

    numus Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    32
    The point is.. You bought a GOOGLE ANDROID phone that is GOOGLE BRANDED to come with the GOOGLE SOFTWARE PACKAGE (including google maps) and yet the GOOGLE MAP doesnt work in aGPS mode that it was designed to and can only work with direct line of sight.. If i wanted just sprint navigation i would have stuck with my blackberry.. We bought GOOGLE phones so we can use GOOGLE software..
    People need to realize the BBB is jsut like UL (underwriter laboratories)... they are a private business and have no real jurisdiction and large companies usually dont really care about BBB rankings.. Also just like any private business, everything can be fixed with large amounts of money...


    decalex's map is the exact reason the aGPS needs to be fixed
     
  17. jebrank

    jebrank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    Great. At least they have said it WILL happen!
     
  18. PiggyGirl

    PiggyGirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok...so the people complaining about GPS are having problems with Google Maps but Sprint Nav works fine??? I obviously missed that point. Sorry.
     
  19. ragingbull2k2

    ragingbull2k2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    have you guys tried deselecting "Use Wireless Networks" under settings>security & location? since I did that, haven't had a problem with my location... as a matter of fact, my location display by a blue dot in google maps moves and follows me when I'm on the road... and for those saying that you need line of sight, I opened up google maps right before typing this post from my bedroom and it displays my exact location...

    and about time we got 2.0!

    Joey
     
  20. numus

    numus Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    32
    When you deselect Use Wireless Network, it uses pure gps satellites only.. If you are lucky and have a ceiling made of thing material or have a window that has a view of a satellite then you can get a signal.. but if you are in an area that has no way of tracking 2+ gps satallites you are SOL on location since the GPS can not use cell towers to triangulate your possession.. that is the whole point of Wireless Network Location.. 1.5 was never designed for CDMA and aGPS it was only for GPS from my reading.. thus until they either patch it (like HTC) or upgrade to 1.6 the assisted portion of aGPS will not function, thus when you use wireless network in a non gps location (like a lot of us do as a default backup) it will show you in areas like waterloo, UK... Sudan... Iran... Fiji... etc..
    Further more the GPS chip uses a ton of battery and is unnecessary in applications like geolocation on weather, were wireless network location is more then sufficent.. so instead of wasting the battery on gps and forcing to be in a location with satellite access.. it would be better if they actually fixed the damn assisted portion..
     
  21. cvam1985

    cvam1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    It changes how I use it. The screen is dim, the keyboard won't light up, and I can't use the camera. Do you know if there's a setting to fix this?

    Yeah the phone lasts all day at 15 percent, but it certainly affects how I use it.
     
  22. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    First off, the cell towers do not have "GPS coordinates". They just have "coordinates". They are fixed. They don't move. That value(coordinates) is not arbitrary and it never changes. I know you know this but since you are giving a tutorial, we may as well use correct terminology. Also, aGPS uses Wifi signals to augment position data as well. I learned this in the GPS thread. Somebody had a link that explained it well. There is a database of surveyed wifi hotspots to provide a network to allow additional data to get a position fix....just a little FYI.

    Edit:....and as a test, I just turned "everything" ON EXCEPT GPS(repeat...GPS OFF) and google maps found my location within about 100m in seconds....likely thru Wifi if we assume it can't do it thru the celltowers. So to say aGPS does not work, is incorrect. It may not work thru the celltowers but it does work thru wifi.....or maybe I just got a ringer of a phone(pardon the pun). With wifi OFF, it could not find my location. Are we off topic yet???
     
  23. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    And again, to be technically correct.....The phone works perfectly normal at 15%. It is when it goes BELOW 15%(the next step would be 5%) is when you get the power saving mode mentioned above.
     
  24. cvam1985

    cvam1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    I always thought the power save mode was when it was 15 percent. If that's not the case, then my phone stays on 5% battery almost all day.
     
  25. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    It's actually a pretty big issue for me ever since I swapped mine out a few weeks ago. I, like a few others, are experiencing the phone resetting during moderate usage when the phone goes into battery saving mode (never had the problem before I swapped it out). So the battery issue is huge for me since I cannot do much more than make phone calls once it hits that warning mark.:(

    Of course, the bright side is that since I know I can only make phone calls, my phone lasts especially long under 15%:p
     

Share This Page

Loading...