Root [Sprint/Cricket] Samsung S3 Won't Connect to Odin

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by frankfeeble, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    Hey all. I have a rooted Sprint Galaxy S3. I wanted to upgrade to 4.1.2, but I can't connect to Odin (box stays blue, won't turn yellow). I'm using the OEM cable and the phone connects and transfers with the PC fine.

    I have tried the following:

    • updated drivers on computer/allowed automatic update
    • tried connecting on two different PC's (one running W7 and one W8)
    • tried different USB ports
    • tried different cables
    • tried different versions of Odin (3.04 and 3.07)


    It appears based on the above that the issue is with the phone. What else can I do? Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. triger

    triger Well-Known Member
    36

    Mar 17, 2013
    123
    9
    36
    use samsung kies to get the driver
     
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    VIP Member
    1,443

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,249
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Cant remember if it has to be but is Usb Debugging checked in Developer Options mate?
     
  4. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    I downloaded it and it says my firmware is up to date. I tried and still no yellow box. Thanks for the advice.
     
  5. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    Yes it is checked for USB bugging.

    I'm pretty sure I rooted it using the Clockwork Recovery mod.
     
  6. mike710_0

    mike710_0 Well-Known Member
    38

    Mar 26, 2013
    174
    18
    38
    What version of Odin? I use v3.04 which works fine
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    8,018

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,055
    21,181
    8,018
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    I might be asking a stupid question here, but is the phone in download mode?
    And are you trying to unroot and take the update?
     
  8. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    I've tried both 3.04 and 3.07.

    Yes, I reboot it in download mode with the [volume down + power + menu] method, then press volume up to enter the download mode.

    I am only trying to manually install the update.

    Thanks.
     
  9. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    8,018

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,055
    21,181
    8,018
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    Kies and Odin don't play well with each other I have heard.

    Now, I don't use Kies, so I cannot comment when they are both trying to connect to the phone. :p

    You could try to either disable Kies or uninstall Kies and leave the drivers.

    I assume you have the drivers because you stated that your computer does see your phone normally. :)
     
  10. mike710_0

    mike710_0 Well-Known Member
    38

    Mar 26, 2013
    174
    18
    38
    Did you root the phone yourself or buy it like that? I can only think of a full factory reset to mind but am sure one of the more knowledgeable users on here can help
     
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    8,018

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,055
    21,181
    8,018
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    Moved to the Sprint root forum here too :)
    Personally, if you desire, I am sure there are custom roms with the 4.1.2 goodies baked into them if you don't want to unroot via Odin. :)
     
  12. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    I've killed Kies in the Task Manager and it still won't connect.

    I rooted it myself.

    Can I unroot the phone without doing a factory reset? I'd rather not wipe the phone if I don't have to.

    Are there any other things I can try to get Odin to work? The program worked fine when I rooted it. Any ideas what could have caused my phone to not want to connect to Odin? Any potential settings/apps that could be causing this? The phone is definitely set to debugging.
     
  13. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    8,018

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,055
    21,181
    8,018
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    Went back to your first post....what box? If it's the box I'm thinking of, it's supposed to be blue.:thinking:

    [​IMG]
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.
  14. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,761
    3,728
    543
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Very true, older versions of odin, Green Light is yellow.

    But the newer version is blue.

    Blue is good :) :thumbup:
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  15. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    I tried and still got the error message, see SS below:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    8,018

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,055
    21,181
    8,018
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    Are you flashing the right file?
    Looks like that file is for the I9305.
     
  17. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,761
    3,728
    543
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    :eek::eek::eek:

    Don't attempt to flash whatever your trying to flash!

    That's for India's s3 only!

    Like Mike has already stated, you can flash a rom based off of the latest OTA, much easier.

    Otherwise if your persistent on doing the actual update, I believe there is a Flashable stock recovery.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  18. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    I'm on a Sprint S3- should I be using the I9300 file?
     
  19. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,761
    3,728
    543
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    See my above post.

    Definitely not. You should only flash L710dspr tar files.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  20. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    8,018

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,055
    21,181
    8,018
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    No, the I9300 file is for an international version.
    Let me ask you this, what do you desire to do.?
    Unroot and take the latest OTA?
    Or, flash a rom with the OTA's baked into it.?

    Edit: I even get ninj'd here too :p
    It's all good tho :thumbup:
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.
  21. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,761
    3,728
    543
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Mikestony likes this.
  22. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    Do you know where I can get a rom? I am unfamiliar with the topic. Thanks for the help! Luckily I didn't brick this big beautiful phone.
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.
  23. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,761
    3,728
    543
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Sure no problem, would you prefer a stock rom or a custom rom?

    You'll also need to flash the radio/modem as well.

    Give me a few and ill fetch some links for you :D
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  24. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,761
    3,728
    543
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
  25. frankfeeble

    frankfeeble Member
    6

    Apr 10, 2013
    9
    2
    6
    Thanks dude!
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...