Sprint Hero and Tethering - Internet Sharing


Last Updated:

  1. buzzman003

    buzzman003 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All!

    I have been a Blackberry and Windows Mobile user for the last eight years. I am 55% sure that I want to get the Hero but I am not 100% sold. I am also considering the Pre.
    I know this sounds crazy, but the absolute #1 thing I need is Internet sharing and tethering capability; even more so than a phone itself. I must be able to connect my phone to my laptop, either by usb or bluetooth, and have it working in less than 30 seconds each time. I currently run Ubuntu 9.4 and Windows Vista/XP. My windows mobile phone works with all of these, and quickly.

    I have searched and searched but have found nothing as to wether the Sprint version is capable of thethering.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    According to this PDF, http://insidesprintnow.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/hero_gsg.pdf , page 98 has this on mobile network sharing.

     
  3. gclaus

    gclaus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1

    Check out an app called PDANet. I've used it with my windows mobile phone for a few years and have been fairly happy. It's been a little quirky, but I think that had more to do with my phone than it did the software. It also support tethering via bluetooth.
     
  4. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,182
    Likes Received:
    5,028
    No kidding about the quirky part. It was working very well with my Touch Diamond for over a year, then suddenly its been slower to connect and slower to surf. I got so frustrated that I ended up going out and getting the 3G/4G Franklin wireless dual modem in anticipation of NY getting 4G next year. (Plus the fact that I travel alot to Baltimore and other areas that already have 4G).

    Still, I have it as a backup on my cell in case I forget to bring the modem with me. I do believe they have a version that works with Android.

    TS
     
  5. buzzman003

    buzzman003 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the posts.

    Can anyone with a demo Sprint HTC Hero confirm or deny that the phone can/cannot be tethered?

    Thanks!
     
  6. ChrisPlague

    ChrisPlague Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    seeing as it must be on an everything data plan and you CAN NOT have a phone as a modem option added to that plan should sum it up
     
  7. ggoldfingerd

    ggoldfingerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also wanted to know how Sprint see's your phone when its connected to a pc.
     
  8. ChrisPlague

    ChrisPlague Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    well you need extra software it used to be supplied by sprint but since they dont want you to use it it obviously doesnt work.

    This is copied and pasted from a user on the sprint community site

    "Sprint does not support or condone using your phone as a modem and it is in their right to terminate your contract if they choose to. "
     
  9. buzzman003

    buzzman003 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know which Sprint phone I can get that does have Internet sharing because I need that really badly?
     
  10. ChrisPlague

    ChrisPlague Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    its not that the phone doesnt support its that sprint wont allow it unless you already have it as an addon to your plan.
     
  11. hiero4life

    hiero4life New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure Sprint turned off the option to "tether" we just have to wait untill someone finds out how to turn it back on. PDAnet isn't an option for some (MAC users). When we are able to root the Sprint Hero you can use "Wifi Tether" .
     
  12. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thats the thing though. IF Sprint disabled it, why would it even be IN the manual? Unless of course the manual was a first draft type of thing that went back to Sprint for editing, but there are at least 2 different versions that each have the same stuff (just on different pages).

    In my opinion, no tethering options are one of the shortfalls of Sprint.
     
  13. TattierPub

    TattierPub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no tethering because they want to you buy the MiFi or a broadband card and pay for the service.
     
  14. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    That much I got. :D

    The point is, you can put the same restrictions on tethering that you would with other mobile broadband. Not that I want caps and overages, but the option to do the same thing without yet another 2 year contract and without having to buy and tote around additional hardware.

    We all know they could add it to a plan for 30-60 bucks and people would still use it. The only difference is they dont get to sell more stuff / lock in more contracts.
     
  15. antiseven

    antiseven New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got off the phone with Sprint.. What it came down to was in order to get the hero you have to get one of their "simply" plans. That's all fine and good until they tell me that you have to get a "Talk" plan and a data plan separately in order to use phone as modem and then pay the extra 15 bucks a month.

    All in all after 40 minutes on the phone it came down to if you want to tether you have to call them and have them work their magic in order to make the plan work otherwise you have to get one of the "Simply" plans and not use tethering.

    Kind of reminds me of ATT when the iphone came out. someone will crack it

    Oh.. and they said you can get it on the 8th not the 11th.. =)
     
  16. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    i'm still lost.......
     
  17. TattierPub

    TattierPub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can get what on the 8th? The Hero? That I seriously doubt as Sprint has given Best Buy a 2 day exclusive for their Reward Zone Members.

     
  18. antiseven

    antiseven New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just goin by what they said.. More than welcome to call em yourself
     
  19. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sarah, over at the Sprint forums has already tried to kill this rumor. She more or less flat out said Sprint (in all forms) would not be selling the Hero until the 11th. That included Corporate stores, telesales and online.

    It would have made sense to sell it a few days early for Telesales and online since they would have to mail it out anyways and it would take a few days, but she said she checked with various sources and confirmed that it would not be sold proir to the 11th by anyone at Sprint.
     
  20. ShiftNo

    ShiftNo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any idea if rooting the Sprint Hero will be doable/the same as rooting a regular Hero? I was wondering if there is any reason to think Sprint did anything to make it harder/not possible to root their Hero.
     
  21. buzzman003

    buzzman003 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    I would image that someone will figure it out but I know that google has made it harder to root the newer devices so maybe they added some protection to this new device. I guess we will have to wait and see.

    I wish some of the reviewers would get on here and post so that they can tell us for sure. Seems like they only use the phones for a few days, do a review, and then leave us high and dry. Have you ever tried to contact some of them, they don't even let you, like phonedog. Worthless.
     
  22. TattierPub

    TattierPub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've asked phonedog_noah several questions over on Twitter and he's answered them all to the best of his ability.

    You are correct they get the phones to review for a limited time. Not being able to use the phones for an extended period affects what they can and can't report. Because of this I'll hold off selling my Tour until I'm sure the Hero lives up to the hype.
     
  23. buzzman003

    buzzman003 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    -rant switch on-
    This may be true as I have not found their instructions for twitter communication. I looked under contact us and they don't even have it, searched the forums, found nothing, and then went to droiddog which is even worse. - People have questions, shut up commenting for once and answer them. - rant switch off-
     
  24. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Makes you wonder what would happen if a review unit was sent back rooted. :D

    Would they even notice? Would they stop sending review units? What if it was sent back bricked?
     
  25. hunt577

    hunt577 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    It clearly says in the Hero Manual for Sprint that Mobile Network Sharing is available on the nationwide sprint network for this device. I can only see this being a typo or something and them changing it before its released. Otherwise, they can't release a manual that's full of false information.
     

Share This Page

Loading...