Sprint kicks AT&T Butt


Last Updated:

  1. damink23

    damink23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    So last night I was at a bar in Boston with my brother. A gentleman taps me on the shoulder and asks me if I can look up the train schedule on my phone. I say sure, and he points out his wife's iphone has been requesting the page for over 5 mins now. I pulled up the page in seconds (on 3g no less) and he thanked me.

    I still don't understand why people use AT&T, over priced and crap service.
     

    Advertisement
  2. gcobb

    gcobb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    23
    Have you not figured out or considered that you may not be close to an AT&T tower? It isn't rocket science.
     
  3. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    That iPhone was probably on EDGE rather than 3G. Sprint has the best 3G footprint in the U.S.; on par with Verizon due to their roaming agreements.
     
  4. damink23

    damink23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    Being in a major city like Boston, MA cell coverage for everyone is pretty good. Not many gaps.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Having AT&T and T-Mobile currently, as well as Verizon (personal account/Droid) and Nextel/Sprint (work phone for past 6 years) within the last year, there has never been a situation, nor area where I do not get signal with AT&T (using Motorola Q), from Nothern VA to Rhode Island. I can not say the same in regards to the other carriers. Some of which, I lose signal less than 2 miles from carrier stores. There are benefits to being on a GSM carrier operating on an 800 band.
     
  6. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Not quite, when it comes to sheer coverage VZW is king. But if your in a Sprint area, there's no reason not to have Sprint.

    Even still, ATT 3G blows. Take that to the bank.
     
  7. gcobb

    gcobb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    23
    I've been taking it to the bank for several years and I'm quite pleased with their coverage.
     
  8. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Have you not seen one of these?

    [​IMG]
     
  9. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,605
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    i thought... iphone and att... said that most airports have wifi... so that they can video conference.

    Boston.. not have good 3G from att???? that sucks!

    I am sure there are customers that have great att service.. when they are in the areas that have great signal. But Sprint and Verizon... have more area coverage WITH good service.

    My friend has tmobile... i have sprint. traveling on road from Fl back to Tx. guess who's phone we used for internet searchs and phone calls? His was very spotty.
     
  10. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    Sprint will automatically 3G roam on VZW's towers. If there isn't Sprint coverage, but there is Verizon coverage.
     
  11. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    But the iPhone has the wifi's.....
     
  12. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Not on ALL of VZW's towers. Sprint can only 3G roam on what used to be Alltels towers, (which makes up the majority of the VZW Network anyways).

    And even still, usage of Verizons 3G network via Sprint roaming is limited to 250mb or you face overages.
     
  13. noobs

    noobs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    10
    You should have told the lady she was holding her phone wrong :)
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
  15. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    I want the one with the bigger GeeBee's though.
     
  16. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    It's actually a soft cap of 300 MB.
     
  17. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Pretty sure there are still overages though. Or maybe they "reserve the right to charge overages".

    Needless to say, don't be streaming youtube/pandora/netflix while roaming.
     
  18. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I'll have to re-read through my contract, but I know that overage aren't automatic I believe they either throttle your data speeds or cut off access until the next month or until you are not longer roaming,
     
  19. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    As I said in the other thread, they will most likely not charge you, (especially with the new "bill shock" legislation :rolleyes:), but they probably will terminate your contract and charge you the full etf for breach of contract.
     
  20. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I don't see them charging the ETF. Other people who have been terminated for using too much service have been terminated without having to pay the ETF. I don't believe this constitutes breach of contract. This is in their Terms and Conditions, not in the contract.
     
  21. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    a.) If your tethering at all, without the tethering add on, your in breach of contract.

    b.) If you use greater than 250mb(300mb now?) off-network consistently, you are in breach of contract.

    There are so many ways to breach your contract it's not funny. And Sprint made it that way on purpose. If you breach your contract, (which i promise you 95% of us do here, even if not on purpose) Sprint can legally charge you an ETF and tell you to suck it, basically.

    What kind of law student are you?
     
  22. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    Here's an example of what I'm talking about:
    http://consumerist.com/2007/07/sprint-drops-you-because-you-call-customer-service-too-much.html
     
  23. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    Nextel coverage isn't Sprint coverage. Nextel is a separate, smaller network. ATT does stink. had them. Not going back. Dropped calls daily in MA to MD corridor. Not 1 dropped call with Sprint.
     
  24. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    For those with Samsung Epic 4G, Sprint kicked all US carriers of the Galaxy S line to froyo.
     
  25. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876

Share This Page

Loading...