sprint navigation update


Last Updated:

  1. swoid

    swoid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did a quick search and found nothing. My Sprint nav updated this morning. Maps and traffic seems a bit better. Anyone else notice the update?
     

    Advertisement
  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    It came through yesterday, at least on the Moment.

    I don't have Sprint Nav anymore, so I certainly didn't update it lol
     
  3. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yes, got my update today....
     
  4. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    anything different that's worth the update? for a navigation program, I don't find it really intuitive to move around...
     
  5. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    To me, in seems moving around the menus is a bit faster. I haven't really noticed any changes in navigation (however, I have only used it once since the updated). One thing I noticed is the voice is a bit different when speaking street names vs generic things like "turn left".
     
  6. jdawg0024

    jdawg0024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    5
    It also lets you uninstall it from the Manage application settings, however, it doesnt fully uninstall you will go back to version 2.1
     
  7. lrosenman

    lrosenman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    This seems to be the premium version of 2.8. It has a bunch of added functionality like Weather, and movie stuff.

    There is a LOT more on the menus.
     
  8. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    How do you get the update? I opened nav and still have V2.1.
     
  9. lrosenman

    lrosenman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    It prompted me when I opened it. Try going to the about menu.
     
  10. swaze

    swaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Where are you seeing this? To me, the menus look the same as the prior version.
     
  12. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267

    I haven't looked at the 2.8 app yet, but found this at Sprint.

    I have Navigation Premium (2.8), it says.

    Sprint Navigation
     
  13. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    on first page, go to share and more

    There are many new things to explore!
     
  14. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Thanks, I see the movies option. I still need to hunt around for the Weather someone mentioned.
     
  15. markwill

    markwill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a weird experience. I get the prompt to upgrade just fine. I accept that but then get told that my phone isn't recognized (it's a stright Sprint Hero, which hasn't been rooted). I then get a list of phone vendors. Sprint is one of the options but if I select that the list of phones displayed doesn't include an Hero. HTC is another option and that DOES include a Hero option but simply prompts me to download a file.

    My guess is that I am supposed to be seeing a more seamless "install in place" experience rather than having to choose my phone, download a file, etc.

    Thoughts?

    Thanks.

    Mark
     
  16. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Same as markwill here. Did those who have done it install the APK file themselves? Does this overwrite the previous version?
     
  17. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Yeah I got the same message, but don't remember which I chose, HTC or Sprint, but it worked and installed just fine after that.

    Thinking back, I think it was the first option at the top of the list that I choose.
     
  18. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    If you select HTC you then get the option to select HTC Hero (build 2.8).
     
  19. MikeMcG

    MikeMcG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    3
    After doing it that way, navigation works fine once. After closing it and reopening it, all I get is a black screen and force close. After I delete the update and go with 2.1, it works fine.
     
  20. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    The new update seems to make the app work faster...

    alot of new stuff added to it as well....

    and no I didn't use the apk, I did an OTA update..
     
  21. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Where are you finding the weather option?
     
  22. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    main scree, choose "share & more", then it's#4 "Weather"
     
  23. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Hmm, I'm not seeing it. I confirmed my Sprint Navigation is version 2.8. I have a Sprint Hero running Android 1.5 (not rooted). When I go to "Share & More", I see:

    1. Share Address
    2. My Stuff
    3. Movies
    4. Record Location
    5. Refer a Friend
    6. Product Tour
    7. Preferences
    8. Diagnostic Tools
    9. About

    I wonder why our versions are different...
     
  24. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    1-3 are the same, my 4 is Weather, then the rest 5-10 same as your 4-9. Maybe your location doesn't support weather? Just a thought. Other than that, I dunno

    Does yours say Sprint Navigation Premium? My version number from "About" is 2.8.0.1029
     
  25. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    When I go to the About screen, I see:

    Sprint Navigation
    Version:2.8.0.1029

    No Premium.
     

Share This Page

Loading...