1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

[Sprint] Root access possibly lost. Fix? Galaxy S.4


Last Updated:

  1. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hopefully someone can help me out here. I have the Galaxy S.4. I was rooted before with no problems on stock rom. I have unrooted and rooted this phone 3 times. I got tired of the install update icon sitting in my notification bar for the last several months. So I unrooted my phone. Then did the ota updates. It was 3 or 4 of them. I am now 4.3 stock rom. So I when to re-root and got that with no problem. I used the odin method, I used odin again to install clockworkmod (v6.0.4.4) on the phone. I rebooted and it worked great, no problems. I then when to get the final piece of the puzzles so to speak. I downloaded MDCHotspotmod-odexed from
     

    Advertisement
  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    If you can provide your carrier and current build number for you device, I can move this to the proper root forum for people more familiar with the device to help you out.
     
  3. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sprint SPH-L720
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    Alright, it has been moved to the sprint s4 root forum. :)
     
    Rush and ocnbrze like this.
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Did you make a backup in cwm prior to flashing the tether zip? If so, have you tried to restore?
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  6. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7,159
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    I issued a general call to arms to get more folks in to help. :)

    Although you've got a few rockstars in here already. :)
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  7. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    No, i didn't. I got my data backed up with titanium Tho. I hit factor reset + it didn't help
     
  8. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thank you
     
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Ok. The S4 has a removable sdcard no? If so, how about placing a rom on there (surely there must be one that's almost pure stock but made into a rom) and then flash it from recovery?

    Lemme look around for a stock rom unless another S4 user wanders in before I can get it done. :)
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Ok so there's some roms but if my research is correct (don't own this device), it appears that when you updated to 4.3 (mja), you got the knox enabled bootloader with that. Which I believe means you'll have a flash counter in play now. Wasn't sure if that'd be a deal breaker for you or not?

    edit: although after a re-reading your OP, may be a moot point since you've been flashing zips on 4.3 already.
     
  11. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    So wat does that mean? "flash counter in play now. " i do have a rom for g.s.4 but its not close to stock. I didn't want to flash it + make it worse
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
  13. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Its a good post but its basically saying don't update. But i already have. I don't have a warranty To void so i would like to know how bad my phone is messed up and if i can get my phone working again
     
  14. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    I know you've already accepted the OTA, I was just explaining where I got the "flash counter in play now" from because you asked for an explanation on that.

    So if you don't have a warranty to void, you can flash a rom and not worry about the flash counter. Flashing a working rom should get you a booting phone again assuming you can still get into recovery that is. I suppose the other route would be to flash back to stock using odin if the newest stock tar is available. I have not searched for that.
     
  15. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well i tried using odin to get back to stock + unroot but every time i run Odin it fails. (Never had problems with Odin before excepting the update. So if i flash a new rom with cwm i would be safe?
     
  16. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    When you were flashing stock with Odin, were you using the new 4.3 firmware file? Because I'm pretty sure you can't go backward with Samsung.

    But yeah, anyway I would think you'd be good flashing a rom unless there are known limitations preventing you from loading certain roms with your current baseband and/or bootloader. And if that's the case (which it can occasionally be), I wouldn't be privy to that since I'm not close enough to this phone to know off the top of my head. One would like to believe that any such pitfalls would be noted in the flashing instructions. I'd also read through any rom threads you might be interested in to search for any known oddities with your particular setup (meaning whatever you have for OS/baseband/bootloader from the OTA you took, plus the fact you're running cwm as your recovery). Need to be sure any given rom is flashable with your recovery as well.
     
    Granite1 and ocnbrze like this.
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,597
    Likes Received:
    14,436
    i do not have an s4 so i can't be of too much help.

    curious do you still have a recovery?

    and let this be a lesson to make sure that once you have a custom recovery.....always make a nandroid backup.....they could have possibly have saved you already.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  18. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    sexyington, Granite1 and ocnbrze like this.
  19. jejb

    jejb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    37
    sexyington likes this.
  20. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes still have recovery
     
  21. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
  22. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    And which rom is that
     
    jejb likes this.
  23. sexyington

    sexyington Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    So does anyone know how to get rid of KNOX BootLoader or change bootloader if that it what is causing the bootloop?
     
  24. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    I don't think that's what's actually causing the bootloop and from that thread, it sounds like you can't get rid of it once you have it. Which is fine since you don't have warranty concerns. That flash counter means nothing to you. I think the bootloop came entirely from flashing the tether zip. So the only way out is either flashing a rom via recovery or try to reflash stock using Odin and the correct file for whatever OS version you just updated to.
     
  25. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator Guide

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,644
    Likes Received:
    3,552
    Um, also I had this on my GNex and my fix was just factory resetting the device. I don't know if this will help you at all, but it fixed mine.

    However, it sounds like you might just need to flash a rom like iowabowtech said from the issues you sound like you are still having.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...