Sprint terminated me for roaming!


Last Updated:

  1. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    18
    As you know there is a hack to force roam over to Verizon. By no mean am I blaming this on the hack itself. I would still use the hack AS needed however I'm blaming myself for not paying closer attention and not monitoring.

    Apparently even though the triangle wasnt showing, (so I'm guessing by the excessiveness (1000) min in June the same month I got my Evo), I must have did the hack and didnt toggle the PRL back to Sprint or Automatic. Well it just cost me my line I had for 8 years now. Sprint sent me a warning letter last Dec. because I went over 800 (had a Touch Pro 2 at that time), so this was the 2nd time. I have 3 lines and the other 2 lines are ok. This specific line however was not on contract since May 2010 so I'm wondering if theres room for a dispute to say it wasnt "2 warnings under contract" which is the policy to terminate for roaming.

    I've spoken with a few managers and some corparate office in VA. They basically said once that letter goes out theres no reversing regardless of over 12 tech tickets submitted about service since last year, a technician coming to my house, purchasing 3-4 devices, a free air wave sent and discounted every month. It still doesnt matter.

    I know most of you are thinking. Why not just switch services. Well I'd like to, except T-Mobil and AT&T get nothing where I'm at and Verizon gets great service but theres plans would cost me about $200 just for 2 lines unlimited data and text. Right now I have 3 lines for about $170 and unlimited data and text 1500 shared. Plus Sprint always has the biggest variety of phones to pick from.

    My question is does anyone know of a workaround to keep my number since I'm eligible to add a line under one of my other 3 lines? They said they are waiving my term fee and line will be disconnected Sept 12. I also wanted to get a 2.1 Evo (to root) while they're still in stores to use #775# on the additional line and sell my 2.2 Froyo version that I've hated since update. Moderators feel free to move if its wrong forums.

    Thanks in advance to any suggestions in porting my number or anything offered.
     

    Advertisement
  2. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    I would think given the law about number portability sprint doesnt get to keep that number, just terminate the line going to it.
     
  3. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    No, the portability law states that in order for you to ensure your number is ported over, the NEW company has to request it. If you just terminate your service, Sprint can immediately assign your number to someone else, since there's no pending request for porting it. If you've already terminated the line, there's no way to put your number on hold while you shop around.


    Directly from the FCC:
    Keeping Your Telephone Number When You Change Your Service Provider
     
  4. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    18
    I didnt know there was a law about that. Sprint has no problem with me taking the number to a different carrier. However I'd like to keep it at Sprint and I'm not understanding if the number is attached to a certain "account" number that they're terminating or if they're banning me from using this number on any line no matter what.

    Since I'm adding a line before this one gets terminated I'm wondering if I can port my current line early..
     
  5. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Yeah, you need to find out if they are banning you from ever being a sprint customer, or just banning your existing line. If it's just your line, I doubt you'll be able to use that number anymore. If it's a ban from Sprint, you can most likely port the number to another carrier, provided that you sign up with another carrier before the date of termination with Sprint.
     
  6. brownhornet

    brownhornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    34
    I knew there was going to eventually be a backlash with that... glad I didnt do it.
     
  7. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    Yeah, im glad i didnt do the forced roaming hack. I really need it because my house blocks all reception.. but i just put the phone on the windowsill and use bluetooth.

    I typically have 1000-1500 mins a month and thats while im at home, id imagine id get booted from sprint too.

    If i did cancel me for excessive roaming, do they just cancel that line, or am i not able to sign a contract with sprint again..?

    And id be pretty pissed if i lost my number cuz they canceled me..
     
  8. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    18
    they're not banning me from Sprint but banning the specific number attached to the line. Kind of pissed since I was a white glove customer. $150 Upgrade every year. Wish I could transfer that to one of my other lines. I guess I'll be getting a new number then.
     
  9. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Prolly not worth it, but you could port it out to another carrier. then port it back in. That might be enough "laundering" for Sprint to forget that the number was blacklisted. Or not.
     
  10. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    18
    You mean as in switch number to verizon for 30 days then back to Sprint within that 30 days? I wonder how long the number would be active on the blacklist
     
  11. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    It's about the activity, not the phone/number itself. Politely escalate to a manager or director and let them know that you inadvertently made a mistake. Then ask if they would reconsider the ban or allow you to continue using that number and ban one of the other "lines" on the account instead. You need to emphasize that you have substantial personal and business connections tied to that particular number and would appreciate them making some accommodation in order to retain you as a customer despite this hiccup. If you don't have good connection and was never offered an Airrave as an option, ask if things can be made right by the Airrave option that you just found about about on this forum. Explain that you're not trying to get over, but you need to be able to have connection as the phone is your primary means of communication.

    I doubt most CSRs will be authorized to do this so make sure you get this escalated before making any proposals. For the frontliners, just tell them you'd like to speak to someone at a level who can authorize an exception/override.

    Oh, and have porting the number as an option in case it doesn't work out. Find out how long the "ban" is - they're rarely permanent. Then make a move. TMo has a $100 no-contract plan that allows you to buy 1000 mins that are good for 12 months. It's a little pricey and awkward to try to hold onto your number, but it's possible. Better than going to another carrier on contract.
     
  12. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    18
    Good info. I did what you asked the day I got the letter. started with a rep. She escalated it to a manager in the roaming dept and we had a conversation for an hour. They weren't rude or anything but kept stressing once the letter went out they cant reverse. They even seen all the complaints about service which really bothered me..I've spend alot of money trying to make things work between phones and etc but it was like they didnt care. I ended calling 703 433 4401 corparate and a woman looked into it.Called me back and stated because it was the 2nd time her hands were tied. I guess its looking like I need to let the number go...I'll def.see how long the ban is though. Thanks for your advice
     
  13. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    Nothing's impossible. Send a letter to Hesse and a few of his direct reports (head of CS and Retentions). Complement the people who've tried but let them know that it's an unfortunate problem that requires their specific involvement. Let them know that you've seen attempts at improved CS, but this is at a level where special consideration needs to be taken so you can preserve your own and all your family's lines on Sprint. Since it's one of multi lines, banning one makes almost no practical sense. It would make sense for a 1-line account, but not a multi-line account where high roaming is more the exception than the rule.

    What they are approving isn't the same as cases where people run up incredible charges.

    At that point, I think you should also mention how important it is to maintain the number and the incredible lengths it would take to preserve it. I think you should also let Hesse know at some point you'd want to be able to bring that number back to Sprint should your home area get better coverage or you end up.

    Let him know you'd appreciate a personal reply or one from one of his reports or delegates before the date you need to port your line (even if you think you may not port it).

    The irony is that if you ported to Boost, I don't even think they have access to Sprint's records so the port would take place and you'd be using Sprint's network (though it would be on the Nextel side).

    You might even offer this idea to them (has Sprint ever considered unlimited roaming add-on packages for people who spend equal time in/out of coverage area?).

    Good luck though.
     
  14. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    1000 minutes of roamin in one month? did i read that right?
     
  15. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'll definetely give that a shot. I remember looking on the consumer complaints or BBB trying to get someone with some real pull years ago. Her name was was Gloria and I regret not keeping her info. She corrected whatever issue I was having. I'll see what I can find or will just send Dan an email. (I keep hearing he doesnt respond. just a automatic reply or regular rep). Only one way to find out...

    Over a thousand. Thats correct. I'm guessing it was just roaming for most of the month>Verizon hack. The crazy part is the service was still horrible. It took me going thru a few PRLS in late July to actually get 1 that works with triangle and all
     
  16. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    Send it email and hard copy it's pretty hard to avoid both.
     
  17. cbanks

    cbanks Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think I know the answer before I even post this but let me offer a suggestion.

    By all means, take your appeals with Sprint as far as you can. I suspect that will fail. However, it appears that Verizon meets your needs better for the line that got busted for roaming charges. Is a reasonable compromise to transfer that single number over to Verizon and keep the rest on a family plan at Sprint?
     

Share This Page

Loading...