SRE or UTB??


Last Updated:

  1. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    hello! i am new to the android community but having been modiing iphones and wm devices. i will be getting my captivate in a week or so... ditching my jailbroken iphone 2g and tilt 2 running custom ROMs and froyo blazin 2.2 :D.... been reading between unleash the beast and super rooter extreme. im leaning toward SRE but wanna know what tool did u guys use? i mean they seem to have almost the same features... so im wondering what method should i use?? i also have a mac if that makes a difference. thank you all and im glad joining the android community!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    SRE definately, the developer is constantly providing updates and support and it has an option for lagfix, it is more current than UTB and it has Mobile AP which UTB does not.
     
  3. pdxrealtor

    pdxrealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    SRE here. Been using it since you had to flash with Odin.

    I just tried the latest version 1.3 and it seems to be buggy.... could be me though so don't hold too much weight to those words.

    I have a nandroid backup of the earlier SRE version that works like a charm.

    The 1.3 version I think was just released yesterday. With the XDA site being down I haven't been able to see what people's experience are and if any problems are being ironed out.

    Anyways... my vote is for SRE ! :)
     
  4. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have two versions of SRE .zips I can post. V1.2.1a and 1.2.3. I didn't see 1.3, it went up after I went to sleep. I usually wait a day or two before flashing to make sure they aren't buggy, if they are I flash back to previous versions using ClockworkMod.
     
  5. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
    The one reason i like UTB over sre is that overclock thats in sre eats up a lot more battery , utb does what i really need roots, removes bloatware , and allows for sideloading
     
  6. pdxrealtor

    pdxrealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0

    I also have an early zip, but not sure what version. For if anyone wants it....

    **edit** is there a way I can see what version of SRE have saved? It's just a .zip file
     
  7. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    When did you download it?
     
  8. Thare187

    Thare187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Extract the file. Go to system folder and look for the build.prop file. Open it with notepad (or whatever you may use). It has the version within the text.
     
  9. pdxrealtor

    pdxrealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ,.... but no go. Read that txt file line for line and says nothing pertaining to SRE version number.

    Is it maybe not spelled out plainly?
     
  10. Thare187

    Thare187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I extracted 1.2.1a, 1.2.3 and 1.3 and was able to see the version numbers in all three.

    # begin build properties
    # autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
    ro.build.id=ECLAIR
    ro.build.display.id=SREv1.2.3-getting_the_lag_out
    ro.build.version.incremental=UCJH3
    ro.build.version.sdk=7
    ro.build.version.codename=REL
    ro.build.version.release=2.1

    And

    # begin build properties
    # autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
    ro.build.id=ECLAIR
    ro.build.display.id=ECLAIR
    ro.build.version.incremental=SREv1.3-getting_the_lag_out
    ro.build.version.

    And

    # begin build properties
    # autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
    ro.build.id=ECLAIR
    ro.build.display.id=SREv1.2.1a
    ro.build.version.
     
  11. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    will sre work on my macbook? so its that simple to install sre?
     
  12. Thare187

    Thare187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    SRE doesn't go on your Mac or PC. It goes on the root of your internal SD card.
     
  13. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks! hope its easy to install!

    edit: do i need to flash to the most recent stock version if i get my captivate in a week? i assume that since its already stock out of the box i can go right into this or utb right? if not is the most recent stock version jh7?
     
  14. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    If you have a bone stock out of box state you can place either UTB of SRE on your phone with no problem. Just don't install one on top of the other or you will have problems. Anyone needing earlier versions of SRE that aren't buggie hit me with a pm and e-mail addy and I will send you the zip.
     
  15. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh ok cool! im still debating weather to use utb or sre... ive been on the xda forum on the new version of sre and well im not so sure if im gonna use the new version.... ppl have problems with reboots or freezes and all that... are you using the new version of sre? can you post the version before the new sre since that seemed more stable? maybe when i get my captivate this week or something, the new version of sre will be more stable. utb looks promising but sre seems to have better features.... any suggestions? lol. im into rooting, sideloading, and maybe oc...
     
  16. kak

    kak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use UTB. I flashed to JH7 and figured I would give SRE a try. It is (currently) such a mess that I gave up after a few dozen flashes and reapplying it various ways. Read the boards.. I wouldn't give it a try until all of the recent issues are hammered out. I'm currently running JH7, UTB, and ext2 lagfix.. and its fantastic. The GPS finally works in this release.
     
  17. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    SRE isn't a mess for everyone though. I am running 1.3.1c currently and it is blazing fast and problem free for me.
     
  18. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is that the most recent version of SRE? I'm sure ppl who use SRE and works bug free works amazing on their device. I really wanna use SRE.... but flashing back to stock I gotta use Odin correct? But I heard Odin is only on pc based... I have a MacBook... Can u provide step by step on how u got SRE to work? Thank you all for responding!
     
  19. bake

    bake Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think SRE was pretty bad off, apparently he said that he was going to put some serious work in 1.4 so he didn't have to keep redoing like he had to with 1.3.
     
  20. pdxrealtor

    pdxrealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.3, 1.3d, and now 1.3.1c is working and has been working great for me. I think it depends on phone and flash method. It sounds like I've been lucky.
     
  21. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    man i hope when i get my captivate and run the latest version of SRE i will be lucky and have everything work out!! question.... is it necessary to put ur phone to sleep after install SRE? ive been reading on xda that ppl do that and if the phone doesnt wake or something then it is considered a bad flash??? i also heard of some talk about SRE 2.0 coming?
     
  22. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15

    I'm using v1.2.3. It has been stable for me. I am waiting to Flash with his new full ROM, it's now available BETA,
    xda-developers - View Single Post - ★ ☆ ★ SRE v1.3.1c ★ ☆ ★ | Root + 1.2GHz OC/UV + MobileAP + USB Tether + LagFix
    I am waiting for the weekend when I have time to sit and play with my phone, in the event I have a problem I like to have the time for experimenting. I need to copy all my apps and files to my external, this is a full ROM and everything on the internal will be wiped clean.
     
  23. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you for ur response! ahh its so hard to choose! i mean they have their ups and downs i just wanna do it right the first time lol. im really leaning toward SRE but then again i heard all the problems... i dont really hear much bout UTB... can you provide the steps you did when u used SRE? and can i use this method even though i am on mac? but u use it through the sd correct? and if i do mess up isnt odin on windows only? if you can clarify that it would be awesome!
     

Share This Page

Loading...