Stable and speedy ROMs


Last Updated:

  1. nathanotis

    nathanotis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    17
    What are generally regarded as the most stable and speedy ROMs with the lowest incident of things not working? I'm currently running CM6 and I love it, but if there's something better out there, I don't wanna miss out...

    Thank you,
    n.
     

    Advertisement
  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I think they are all good:D:D thanks to the awesome developers;)

    AOSP or Sense UI, that's the question you will have to answer for yourself.

    Nandroid and flash a new rom, you don't like it, nandroid back.

    I personally like CM6, but then again I'm having fun flashing the nightlies, trying the different uncapped kernels.

    Just flashed aosp, nice rom:D
     
  3. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    What is a kernal and a partition exactly? These are the terms that keep coming up and I'm clueless about them.
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    You can flash a new kernel instead of the stock kernel.

    For a more technical answer on what a kernel is and does? Google kernel, lol;)

    Since you are running CM6, apps to sd is native. You can move apps to your sd card without partitioning the sd card. That's the benefit of Froyo/2.2. The luxury of moving apps.:)

    Other 2.1 roms, you will have to partition your sd card to move applications to the sd card
     
  5. Lobo89

    Lobo89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Word of warning, though. Don't move any widget apps to the sd card.
     
    ck4794, radioman42001 and andygu3 like this.
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Good advice:)

    Moving apps with widgets, bad, very bad:p
     
  7. nathanotis

    nathanotis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    17
    So, CM6 is an AOSP ROM, yes? In so much as it is not built with Sense included?
     
  8. Lobo89

    Lobo89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Correct.
     
  9. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Can I Run Launcher pro on an ASOP Rom?
    I do want sprint TV -......
     
  10. Lobo89

    Lobo89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    I don't know the answer to your question, but I do know you can run Sprint TV on the stock CM6 launcher. If that helps any.
     
    MahaloCat likes this.
  11. geeoff81

    geeoff81 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do you choose which apps to move to the SD card if using A2SD in 2.1? Can I choose to move google maps and some games but NOT any of the widgets? Instructions would be great - thanks!!
     
  12. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    I was running CM6 (flashed several nightlys and the stables), but I don't think anything runs faster and smoother than this rom: [ROM] NFX-Hero 2.2.1.update1, 9/5/2010 Friendstream+Deodexed/ODEX+JIT & more - xda-developers

    Try it out, you won't be disappointed!
     
  13. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    Does CM6 come with apps to SD, and how exactly does that work? Are you able to use your apps from the SD, as opposed to the internal memory?

    Also, how do I run Sprint TV with CM6? Would I just restore it to the phone with Titanium Backup or is there a place where I would get it online, and just add it that way?
     
  14. Lobo89

    Lobo89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes, you can move most of the apps to SD. Go to Menu/Settings/Applications/Manage Applications, select the application you want to move, then press Move to SD card. As indicated above, do not move widget apps. They will not run off the SD card.

    You can try restoring it from Titanium backup; I don't know whether that works or not. If not, there's a link to the Sprint TV apk in this thread:

    Sprint TV - CyanogenMod Forum
     
    oOMavrikOo likes this.
  15. xrayx

    xrayx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had some of the Sprint apps (TV, Football, Voicemail, Navagation) working without issue on CM6. Just use the apks to install them.
     
  16. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you need a stable ROM then shy away from the nightlies. I am playing around with them on my Hero and freezes and random reboots happen more than I could live with as a daily ROM. But I knew this going in so its no big deal. I am very impressed with how things are progressing though and once all the bugs are worked out its going to rock.
     
  17. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    Any word on when CM6 will be completed?
     
  18. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I disagree, if you find that 'happy' place for your phone, you should not have any sort of freezes or random reboots.

    Running the CM6 since the 810 nightly, not one reboot and only a few freezes. That's with JIT enabled and oc'ed to 768 24/7.
     
  19. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    7
    Depends on what you can live with I guess. If I had to depend on my Hero day in day out it wouldn't work for me. That's not to say they are not close, they are. It worked very well last night surfing the net but I am afraid to open the camera app again. LOL
     
  20. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Camera is fine;)

    I guess that's why you have an Evo now!!:)
     
  21. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah I took a pic just a few minutes ago. Worked fine then went back to the home screen and the phone froze up. Had to pull the battery again. I will flash a new nightly and see how it goes. I would love to have the gallery in CM6 on my Evo.
     
  22. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I believe there has been more issues with the camera since 2.2.1/FRG83. I don't if there's something to that but I wonder
     

Share This Page

Loading...